ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
1.0 (Apple Message framework v752.3)
text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; delsp=yes; format=flowed
Wed, 22 Aug 2007 12:26:02 -0400
Sean White <[log in to unmask]>
Sean White <[log in to unmask]>
"ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)" <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (180 lines)

Apologies if you receive this CFP deadline extension more than once.




2nd International Conference on
INtelligent TEchnologies for interactive enterTAINment
held in cooperation with ACM SIGCHI

Playa del Carmen, Cancun, Mexico
January 8-10, 2008

Important Deadlines
* Paper Submission Deadline: September 7, 2007 (00:00 CET)
* Notification of Acceptance: October 15, 2007
* Camera-ready Paper Deadline: November 12, 2007

* Late-Breaking Results and Demo Deadline: October 22, 2007 (00:00 CET)
* Notification of Acceptance: November 5, 2007

* Workshop Proposal Submission Deadline: August 14, 2007 (00:00 CET)
* Workshop Proposal Notification: August 21, 2007

Topics of Interest
INTETAIN 2008, held in cooperation with ACM SIGCHI, aims to stimulate  
interaction among academic researchers and commercial developers of  
interactive entertainment systems. In addition to paper  
presentations, posters, and demos, the conference will foster  
discussions through workshops and special events.

INTETAIN 2008 focuses on the development of novel user-centered  
intelligent computational technologies and interactive applications  
for entertainment, being made possible through the use of a wide  
range of interactive device technologies (e.g., mobile and wearable  
devices, home entertainment centers, haptic devices, wall screen  
displays, information kiosks, holographic displays, fog screens,  
distributed smart sensors, and immersive displays) and media delivery  
infrastructures (e.g., multimedia networks, interactive radio,  
streaming technologies, DVB-T/M, ITV, P2P, satellite broadcasting,  
UMTS, Bluetooth, Broadband, and VoIP).

We seek exciting and innovative work in areas including, but not  
limited to:
Intelligent Computational Technologies for Entertainment
* Adaptive Media Presentations
* Recommendation Systems in Media
* Scalable Crossmedia
* Affective User Interfaces
* Novel Interaction Technologies
* Intelligent Speech and Multimedia Interfaces
* Telepresence in Entertainment
* Collaborative User Models and Group Behavior
* Collaborative and Virtual Environments
* Cross-Domain User Models
* Animation and Virtual Characters
* Novel Displays and Devices
* Augmented, Virtual, and Mixed Reality
* Computer Graphics and Multimedia
* Pervasive Multimedia and Gaming
* Creative Language Environments
* Computational Humor

Interactive Applications for Entertainment
* Intelligent Interactive Games
* Intelligent Music Systems
* Interactive Cinema
* Edutainment
* Interactive Art
* Museum Guides
* City Guides and Tourism Assistants
* Shopping Assistants
* Interactive Social Networks
* Interactive Story Telling
* Personal Diaries, Websites, and Blogs
* Applications for Special Populations (Handicapped, Children, Elderly)

Information for Authors
Paper Submission
INTETAIN 2008 accepts three types of paper submissions:
* Full Papers (from 6-10 pages)
* Late Breaking Results (up to 4 pages)
* Demos (up to 4 pages)

All submissions must follow the ACM two-column conference style  
format including figures and references. Links to templates will be  
available from the conference website. Authors are requested to  
submit their PDF manuscripts electronically by following the  
instructions at the conference home page:  
Supporting videos can also be submitted. Full papers will be included  
in the ACM Digital Library.

Workshop Proposals
Proposals are solicited for Workshops as part of the events  
associated with INTETAIN 2008. In addition to the interest areas  
listed above, workshops may address other topics in entertainment  
technology and applications. Please see the Call for Workshop  
Proposals for more information.

Submissions should describe original research that has not been  
previously published or accepted for publication, and is not under  
consideration for publication at another conference or journal.  
Accepted papers will be presented at the conference as oral or poster  

Organizing Committee
General Chair:
- Steven Feiner, Columbia University , USA
Steering Committee:
- Imrich Chlamtac, CREATE-NET, Trento, Italy
- Oscar Mayora-Ibarra, CREATE-NET, Trento, Italy
Program Chairs:
- Jim Rehg, Georgia Tech, USA
- Antonio Krüger, University of Muenster, Germany
Local Chair:
- Isaac Rudomin, Tec de Monterrey, Mexico
Publicity Chair:
- Sean White, Columbia University, USA
Publication Chair:
- Hrvoje Benko, Microsoft Research, USA
Financial Management:
- Zsuzsa Lanyi-Kaszab, ICST
- Ana Hilda Morales Aranda, CREATE-NET, Trento, Italy

Program Committee
Elisabeth Andre 	Augsburg University, Germany
Liliana Ardissono 	University of Torino, Italy
Lora Aroyo 		Free University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Steffi Beckhaus 	University of Hamburg, Germany
Hrvoje Benko 		Microsoft Research, USA
Mark Billinghurst 	HIT Lab, New Zealand
Kim Binsted 		University of Hawaii, USA
Christopher Bregler 	New York University, USA
Shay Bushinsky 		University of Haifa, Israel
Andreas Butz 		University of Munich, Germany
Tat-Jen Cham 		Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Adrian Cheok 		University of Singapure, Singapure
Keith Cheverst 		University of Lancaster, UK
Maria Cutumisu 		University of Alberta, Canada
Drew Davidson 		CMU, USA
Amnon Dekel 		University of Jerusalem, Israel
Alois Ferscha 		University of Linz, Austria
Matthew Flagg 		Georgia Tech, USA
Helmut Hlavacs 		University of Vienna, Austria
Elaine Huang 		University of Aachen, Germany
Markus Löckelt 		DFKI Saarbrücken, Germany
Carsten Magerkurth 	IPSI Fraunhofer, Germany
Maic Masuch 		University of Magdeburg, Germany
Oscar Mayora-Ibarra 	Create-Net Research Consortium, Italy
Anton Nijholt 		University of Twente, Holland
Partick Olivier 	Univiersity of Newcastle, UK
Paolo Petta 		Medical University of Vienna, Austria
Dennis Reidsma 		University of Twente, Holland
Mark Riedl 		Institute for Creative Technologies, USC, USA
Isaac Rudomin 		Monterrey Institute of Technology, Mexico
Ulrike Spierling 	FH/University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Bill Swartout 		Institute for Creative Technologies, USC, USA
Woontack Woo 		Gwangju Inst. of Science and Technology, Korea

                To unsubscribe, send an empty email to
     mailto:[log in to unmask]
    For further details of CHI lists see