TEAM-ADA Archives

Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Hal Hart <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Mon, 25 Jun 2001 18:12:04 -0700
text/plain (104 lines)
SIGAda MEMBERS and Other Friends of SIGAda:

I am pleased to announce a successful SIGAda election for the two-year terms of
officerships starting July 1.  The winners are announced in the forwarded message below.
In addition to the six elected officers, current SIGAda Chair Ben Brosgol will become the
Past Chair, the 7th voting member of the SIGAda Executive Committee.  The membership has
chosen significant new blood on the new EC with a minority, only the new Chair and new
Treasurer, having served as SIGAda officers previously (along with Ben).  Nevertheless, all
the winners have also been visible figures in the Ada community for many years, and most
have made significant contributions to SIGAda (a past Tri-Ada chair, several other
conference key people, a SIGAda "Ada Awareness" booth stalwart, a key SIGAda working group
activist, a valuable conference proceedings editor who finally kicked us into the
electronic age of publications, ...).

Please remember that your SIGAda officers may be contacted with your ideas or comments at
any time at <[log in to unmask]>.  Additionally, the larger Extended Executive Committee
(adds working group chairs, newsletter editors, local chapter chairs, current chapter
officers, etc.) may always be reached at <[log in to unmask]>.  I am sure they will welcome
your ideas and energy for volunteering to help organize future SIGAda conferences and
workshops, helping with the "Ada Awareness" booth, helping get more pro-Ada writings into
non-Ada-specific publications (did you see the cover of June's COTS Journal trumpeting the
increasing usage of Ada commercially and the now-emerging business maintaining Ada legacy
software?), providing info for Mike Feldman's educator/student resources page at (35,269 visitors so far!), championing
any new-idea initiatives, etc.

On a personal note, it is with some fondness and some regret that I am now departing the
SIGAda executive committee after more than 20 straight years  --  continuously since the
start of SIGAda's predecessor AdaTEC under SIGPLAN in 1981, before we "grew up" to become a
full ACM SIG in 1984.  (Ben was there then too in 1981, but he retired from the EC 1993-97.
:-)  It has been a great journey of more than two decades, and I have been blessed in the
many friendships I've made, participating in many landmark Ada events (including AdaJUG, an
evolution we effected of the Jovial Users Group), witnessing the many turns in the Ada
community, and for my support for sustained participation from my employer, TRW.  Yet, even
though I will formally depart from the "insider" circle in six days, you won't get rid of
me that easily  --  I intend to remain at the center of the SIGAda "Ada Awareness" booth
initiative and the SIGAda Awards process for quite a while longer, and to serve in any role
in organizing future SIGAda events that comes my direction.  I am sure in my retirement
(not so far away), I will count Ada and SIGAda as a/the over-arching highlight or fond
memory in my career, certainly the only constant through more than half my professional
life, without which I would have gone who knows what very different directions and probably
become a different person.  I almost certainly would not have gotten to know so many of
you, and I would have been poorer for that.

Until next time (at the SIGAda 2001 conference Sep.30 - Oct. 4 in Minneapolis? -- See,

     -Hal Hart, SIGAda Nominations Chair & Past Chair
       [log in to unmask]

Monique Chang (of ACM HQ) wrote on June 25:

> Dear Hal,
> Please find below the results of the 2001 SIGAda election.
> =========================================================================
> The following individuals were elected to serve as SIGAda officers
> for the term July 1, 2001 - June 30, 2003:
> ~~~~~
> Currie Colket
> The Mitre Corporation
> [log in to unmask]
> [log in to unmask]
> ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
> David F. Harrison
> Logicon Technology Solutions
> [log in to unmask]
> ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
> Ann Brandon
> [log in to unmask]
> ~~~~~~~~~~
> Clyde Roby
> Institute for Defense Analyses
> [log in to unmask]
> ~~~~~~~~~~~
> John W. McCormick
> Dept. of Computer Science
> University of Northern Iowa
> [log in to unmask]
> ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
> Jean-Pierre Rosen
> Adalog
> [log in to unmask]
> The tallies of the above have been checked.  Ballots are stored
> at ACM Headquarters for six months in case of questions.