ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Sotirios Terzis <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Sotirios Terzis <[log in to unmask]>
Wed, 7 May 2003 16:56:03 +0100
text/plain (254 lines)


Second IEEE International Conference on Pervasive Computing and
                       PerCom 2004 (http//
                               March 14-17, 2004
                               Orlando, FLORIDA
            **** Paper Submission Deadline --- September 1, 2003 ****
              **** Workshop Proposals Deadline --- June 1, 2003 ****

                   Sponsored by The IEEE Computer Society and
                      The University of Texas at Arlington

                 Cosponsored by the IEEE TCCC and the IEEE TCPP


IEEE PerCom 2004 will be the second annual conference on the  emerging
area   of
pervasive  computing  and communications aimed at providing an exciting
and paradigm for all the time, everywhere services. This emergence is a
outcome  of  the  tremendous  advances  in  wireless networks, mobile
sensor networks, distributed computing, and agent technologies. PerCom
2004 will
provide  a  high profile, leading edge forum for researchers and
engineers alike
to present their latest  research  in  the  field  of  pervasive
computing   and
communications.  As  in  PerCom  2003,  the Mark Weiser Best Paper Award
will be
given to the best paper judged by the award subcommittee.  Also,  as
in   PerCom
2003, a special issue of a leading journal will be published out of the

Proposals to organize Workshops are  also invited. PerCom 2004 will also
industry exhibits and demonstrations.

Feature Topics:
Contributions are solicited in all areas  and  topics  pertaining  to
computing  research and applications. These include, but are not limited
to, the
following topics:

 *    Pervasive computing architectures
 *    Intelligent environments
 *    Wearable computers
 *    Smart devices and smart spaces
 *    Location-dependent / personalized applications
 *    Service discovery mechanisms
 *    Agent technologies
 *    Sensors and actuators
 *    Positioning and tracking technologies
 *    Identification and authentication technologies
 *    Integration of wired and wireless networks
 *    Personal area networks
 *    Enabling technologies such as Bluetooth, 802.11 and 802.15
 *    Software coordination models
 *    Mobile / wireless computing systems and services
 *    Context based and implicit computing
 *    Speech processing / advanced computer vision
 *    User interfaces and interaction models
 *    Wireless/mobile service management and delivery
 *    Ad hoc networking protocols and service discovery
 *    Resource management in pervasive computing platforms
 *    Security and privacy issues for pervasive computing systems

Submission Guidelines:

Submitted papers must be  unpublished  and  not  currently  under
elsewhere  for  publication.  Only  electronic  submissions  (PS or PDF)
will be
considered. Page limit is 12 pages (single column, 11  pt  fonts  and
1.5   line
spaced,  excluding  references,  figures and tables). Detailed procedure
will be
available at All submitted papers will undergo a
review process managed by the technical program committee. IEEE Computer
Press will publish the conference proceedings. Papers of particular
merit   will
be considered for a special issue of a journal.

For organizing a workshop at PerCom'2004, please contact the Workshop
Chairs.  A
separate  proceedings of workshop papers will be published by the  IEEE
Society Press.


Paper Submission: September 1, 2003
Workshop Proposal: June 1, 2003
Demonstration Proposal: October 31, 2003
Acceptance Notification: November 15, 2003
Camera Ready Manuscripts: December 10, 2003
Conference Dates: March 14-17, 2004

Program Chair:

Anand Tripathi
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Email: [log in to unmask]

Vice Program Committee Chairs:

Liviu Iftode
University of Maryland, College Park

Klara Nahrstedt
University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

Paddy Nixon
University of Strathclyde, UK

Technical Program Committee:
Jean Bacon, Cambridge University, UK
B.R. Badrinath,  Rutgers University,  USA
Stefano Basagni, Northeastern University, USA
Bharat Bhargava, Purdue University, USA
Vinny Cahill,  Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Andrew Campbell, Columbia University, USA
Roy Campbell, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Matthew Chalmers, Glasgow University, UK
Marco Conti, Council of National Research, Italy
Diane Cook, University of Texas at Arlington, USA
Antonio Corradi, University of Bologna, Italy
Kieran Delaney, NMRC, Ireland
Armando Fox, Stanford University, USA
Dave Garlan, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Amir Herzberg, Bar-Ilan University, Israel
Lars Holmquist, Viktoria Institute, Sweden
Viktor K. Prasanna, University of Southern California, USA
Robin Kravets, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Hui Lei, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA
Diana Marculescu, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Dave Marples, Telecordia, USA
Phil McKinley, Michigan State University, USA
Lionel Ni, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
Sotiris Nikoletseas, Patras University, Greece
Chiara Petrioli, Rome University `La Sapienza', Italy
Gopal Pingali, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA
Ravi Prakash,  University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Kishore Ramachandran, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Ichiro Satoh, National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo, Japan
Steve Shafer, Microsoft Research, USA
Mukesh Singhal, University of Kentucky, USA
Dave Snowdon, Xerox Research Europe, France
Maarten van Steen, Vrije Universiteit, The Netherlands
Roy Want, Intel Research, USA
Zhi-Li Zhang, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA
Taieb Znati,  University of Pittsburgh and NSF, USA


Organizing Committee:
General Chair:
Sajal K. Das, University of Texas at Arlington, USA

General Vice Chair:
Mohan Kumar, University of Texas at Arlington, USA

Steering Committee Chair:
Behrooz A. Shirazi, University of Texas at Arlington, USA

Keynote Lecture Chair:
Roy Want, Intel Research, Santa Clara, USA

Panel Chair:
Chatschik Bisdikian,  IBM T.J.  Watson Research, USA

Workshop Chairs:
Hui Lei, IBM Research   and
Francis Lau, University of Hong Kong

Education Workshop Chair:
Scott Midkiff,  Virginia Tech,  USA

NIST-Industry Workshop Chair:
Vince Stanford, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST),

Industry Liaison:
Sumi Helal, University of Florida at Gainesville, USA

Demonstration and Exhibit Chairs:

Gopal Pingali,  IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA
Chistian Becker,  University of Stuttgart, Germany

Publicity Chairs:

Diana Marculescu, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Kwan-Wu Chin, Motorola Australia, Sydney, Australia
Sotirios Terzis, University of Strathclyde, UK

Registration Chair:
Gergely Zaruba, University of Texas at Arlington, USA

Finance Chair:
David Levine, University of Texas at Arlington, USA

Local Arrangements :
Ratan Guha (Chair) University of Central Florida, USA
Mostafa Bassiouni, University of Central Florida, USA
Mainak Chatterjee, University of Central Florida, USA
Damla Turgut, University of Central Florida, USA


 Sotirios Terzis

 Department of Computer and Information Sciences
 University of Strathclyde

     mail: Computer and Information Sciences Dept.
           Livingstone Tower
           26 Richmond Street
           Glasgow, G1 1XH
    email: [log in to unmask]
    phone: +44.141.5483839
      fax: +44.141.5525330
 web page: