ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
1.0 (Apple Message framework v1084)
"ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)" <[log in to unmask]>
Thu, 4 Aug 2011 17:36:00 -0400
Amy Hurst <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1
Amy Hurst <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (110 lines)
The deadline for early registration to the Thirteenth International ACM SIGACCESS Conference on Computers and Accessibility is August 20th.

ASSETS 2011 will be held October 24-26, 2011 in Dundee, Scotland, UK.  The deadline to get the conference rate at the APEX hotel is August 27th.

A list of accepted papers is now available on the conference website.

For more details about the conference:


People with disabilities can use Computer and Information Technologies to overcome barriers encountered in day-to-day life, and to participate more fully in society. The ASSETS series of conferences explores the potential of Computer and Information Technologies to support and include individuals with disabilities, and those around them. ASSETS is the premier forum for presenting innovative research on the design and use of both mainstream and specialized assistive technologies by people with disabilities. Sponsored by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and its SIGACCESS Special Interest Group on Accessible Computing, ASSETS includes formal paper sessions, demonstrations, posters, a doctoral consortium, and a student research competition. The single track and friendly atmosphere make ASSETS the ideal venue to meet researchers, practitioners, developers and policymakers to exchange ideas, share information and make new contacts. 

General Chair: Kathleen F. McCoy, University of Delaware, USA
Program Chair: Yeliz Yesilada, Middle East Technical University Northern Cyprus Campus
Treasurer and Registration Chair: Jinjuan (Heidi) Feng, Towson University, USA
Posters and Demonstrations Chair: Leo Ferres, University of Concepcion, Chile and Carleton University, Canada
Doctoral Consortium Chair: Clayton Lewis, University of Colorado, USA and Faustina Hwang, University of Reading, UK
Student Research Competition Chair: Krzysztof Gajos, Harvard University, USA
Web Chair: Tiago João Vieira Guerreiro, Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal
Accessibility Chair: Anna Cavender, Google, USA
Publicity Chair: Amy Hurst, UMBC, USA
Graphic Design Chair: Joshua Hailpern, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Technical Program Committee:
Julio Abascal, University of Basque Country, Spain
Ray Adams, University of Middlesex, UK
Chieko Asakawa, IBM Research Japan, Japan
Melanie Baljko, York University, Canada
Armando Barreto, Florida International University, USA
Jeffrey P. Bigham, University of Rochester, USA
Yevgen Borodin, Stony Brook University, USA
Giorgio Brajnik, University of Udine, Italy
Andy Brown, University of Manchester, UK
Anna Cavender, Google, USA
David Duce, Oxford Brookes University, UK
Alistair D.N. Edwards, University of York, UK
Simon Edwards, Newcastle University, UK
Michael Evans, BBC Research and Development, UK
Torsten Felzer, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany
Harriet Fell, Northeastern University, USA
Jinjuan Heidi Feng, Towson University, USA
Leo Ferres, University of Concepcion, Chile
Kelly Ford, Microsoft, USA
Krzysztof Gajos, Harvard University, USA
Joy Goodman-Deane, University of Cambridge, UK
Peter Gregor, University of Dundee, UK
Vicki Hanson, University of Dundee, UK
Simon Harper, University of Manchester, UK
Matt Huenerfauth, City University of New York, USA
Amy Hurst, UMBC, USA
Faustina Hwang, University of Reading, UK
Howell Istance, University of Tempere, Finland
Caroline Jay, University of Manchester, UK
Arthur Karshmer, The University of San Fransisco, USA
Ravi Kuber, UMBC, USA
Arun Kumar, IBM Research India, India
Sri Kurniawan, University of California Santa Cruz, USA
Richard Ladner, University of Washington, USA
Jonathan Lazar, Towson University, USA
Clayton Lewis, University of Colorado, USA
Ed LoPresti, AT Sciences, USA
Jalal U. Mahmud, IBM Research - Almaden, USA
Eleni Michailidou, The Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Klaus Miesenberger, University of Linz, Austria
Bambang Parmanto, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Enrico Pontelli, New Mexico State University, USA
Christopher Power, University of York, UK
Loretta Guarino Reid, Google, USA
John Richards, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA
Jaime Sanchez, University of Chile, Chile
Andrew Sears, UMBC, USA
Paola Salomoni, University of Bologna, Italy
Constantine Stephanidis, FORTH-ICS and University of Crete, Greece
Hironobu Takagi, IBM Research Japan, Japan
Marilyn Tremaine, Rutgers University, USA
Shari Trewin, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA
Markel Vigo, University of Manchester, Spain
Christian Vogler, Institute for Language and Speech Processing (ILSP), Greece
Annalu Waller, University of Dundee, UK
Takayuki Watanabe,Tokyo Woman's Christian University, Japan
Gerhard Weber, University of Dresden, Germany
Jacob Wobbrock, University of Washington, USA
Michael Wu, University of Toronto, Canada
Panayiotis Zaphiris, The Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Lynette van Zijl, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa

Additional Reviewers:
Iyad Abu Doush, Yarmouk University, Jordon
Lorna Gibson, University of Dundee, UK
Tiago Guerreiro, Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal
Joshua Hailpern, Univsity of Illinois, USA
Shaun Kane, University of Washington, USA
Rui Lopes, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Mish Madsen, MIT Media Lab, USA
Ann Marie Piper, UCSD, USA
Kathleen Price, UMBC, USA
Kris Schindler, University of Buffalo, USA
Kristen Shinohara, University of Washington, USA
Andreas Stefik, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, USA
Lisa Vizer, UMBC, USA
                To unsubscribe, send an empty email to
     mailto:[log in to unmask]
    For further details of CHI lists see