ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
text/plain; charset=US-ASCII
"ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)" <[log in to unmask]>
Wed, 5 Sep 2007 09:41:06 -0400
text/plain (206 lines)
Note: The early registration deadline is September 17, 2007.


Ninth International ACM SIGACCESS Conference on Computers and Accessibility

October 15-17, 2007
Tempe, AZ, USA

The ASSETS series of conferences explores the potential for Computer and
Information Technologies to enhance the lives of individuals with
disabilities and those around them. ASSETS is the premier forum for
presenting innovative research on the design and use of both mainstream and
specialized assistive technologies to support people with disabilities.
Since 1994, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and its SIGACCESS
Special Interest Group on Accessible Computing has sponsored the ASSETS
series of conferences.

This year's conference includes formal paper sessions, demonstrations,
posters, a doctoral consortium, and a student research competition.

The single track and friendly atmosphere make ASSETS the ideal venue to
meet researchers, practitioners, developers and policymakers to exchange
ideas, share information, and make new contacts.

Keynote Speaker

Jonathan Wolpaw, from the Wadsworth Center, will give a talk titled:
"Brain-Computer Interfaces for Communication and Control".


High quality, original submissions will cover topics relevant to computers
and accessibility. This includes the use of technology by and in support

* Individuals with hearing, sight and other sensory impairments
* Individuals with motor impairments
* Individuals with memory, learning and cognitive impairments
* Individuals with multiple impairments
* Older adults

Researchers and practitioners will present novel ideas, designs,
techniques, systems, tools, evaluations, scientific investigations,
methodologies, social issues or policy issues relating to:

* assistive technologies that improve day-to-day life
* assistive technologies that improve access to mainstream Computer and
Information Technologies
* innovative use of mainstream technologies to overcome access barriers
* accessibility and usability of mainstream technologies
* identification of barriers to technology access that are not addressed by
existing research

ASSETS accepts submissions in the following categories:

* Technical papers
* Posters
* Demonstrations
* Student research competition
* Doctoral consortium

Registration Information

The registration costs for ASSETS 2007 are as follows:

Early Registration (before 9/17/2007)
ACM/SIGACCESS members     $435
Non-ACM/SIGACCESS members   $535
Student     $250

Late and on-site Registration (after 9/17/2007)
ACM/SIGACCESS members     $535
Non-ACM/SIGACCESS members   $635
Student     $300
One-day registration      $250

Please visit our website for online registration:



General Chair:
Enrico Pontelli (New Mexico State University, USA)

Treasurer & Registration Chair:
Laura Leventhal (Bowling Green State University, USA)

Program Chair:
Shari Trewin (IBM Research, USA)

Associate Chairs for Posters and Demos:
Anna Dickinson (University of Dundee, UK)
Joy Goodman-Deane (University of Cambridge, UK)

Doctoral Consortium Chairs:
Clayton Lewis (University of Colorado, USA)
Sri Kurniawan (University of Manchester, UK)

Student Research Competition Chair:
Harriet Fell (Northeastern University, USA)

Publicity Chairs:
Kathlene Leonard (Alucid Solution, Inc.)
Matt Huenerfauth (City University of New York, Queens
College, USA)

Web Development Chair:
Klent Harkness (Wichita State University, USA)

Local Organization Chair:
John Black (Arizona State University, USA)

Technical Program Committee:

Julio Abascal (University of the Basque Country, Spain)
Ray Adams (University of Middlesex, UK)
John Arnott (University of Dundee, UK)
Chieko Asakawa (IBM Research, Japan)
Keith Bain (Saint Mary's University, Canada)
Armando Barreto (Florida International University, USA)
John Black (Arizona State University, USA)
Cathy Bodine (University of Colorado at Denver, USA)
Yevgen Borodin (SUNY Stony Brook, USA)
Sheryl Burgstahler (University of Washington, USA)
Noelle Carbonell (University Henri Poincare, LORIA, France)
Libby Cohen (University of Southern Maine, USA)
Sara Czaja (University of Miami, USA)
David Duce (Oxford Brookes University, UK)
Alistair D.N. Edwards (University of York, UK)
D. Gareth Evans (University of Manchester, UK)
Harriet Fell (Northeastern University, USA)
Torsten Felzer (Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany)
Jinjuan Feng (Towson University, USA)
Joan Francioni (Winona State University, USA)
Peter Gregor (University of Dundee, UK)
Vicki Hanson (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA)
Lynda Hardman (CWI, Netherlands)
Klent Harkness (Wichita State University, USA)
Simon Harper (University of Manchester, UK)
Terri Hedgepeth (Arizona State University, USA)
Sarah Horton (Dartmouth College, USA)
Julie Howell (Fortune Cookie, UK)
Matt Huenerfauth (City University of New York, USA)
Julie Jacko (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
Simeon Keates (ITA Software, Inc., USA)
Richard Ladner (University of Washington, USA)
Chris Law (UMBC, USA)
Jonathan Lazar (Towson University, USA)
Kathlene Leonard (Alucid Solution Inc., USA)
Laura Leventhal (Bowling Green State University, USA)
Clayton Lewis (University of Colorado at Boulder, USA)
Edmund LoPresti (AT Sciences, USA)
Jennifer Mankoff (Carnegie-Mellon Unversity, USA)
Kathleen McCoy (University of Delaware, USA)
Klaus Meisenberger (University of Linz, Austria)
Karyn Moffatt (University of British Columbia, Canada)
Michael Muller (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA)
Antti Pirhonen (University of Jyvaskyla, Finland)
Enrico Pontelli (New Mexico State University, USA)
Jaime Sanchez (University of Chile, Chile)
Andrew Sears (UMBC, USA)
David Sloan (University of Dundee, UK)
Michael J. Smith (Fujitsu Consulting, UK)
Neil Soiffer (Design Science Inc., USA)
Constantine Stephanidis (FORTH ICS, Greece)
Robert Stevens (University of Manchester, UK)
Hironobu Takagi (IBM Research, Japan)
Marilyn Tremaine (New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA)
Olga De Troyer (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)
Gerhard Weber (Multimedia Campus Kiel, Germany)
Yeliz Yesilada (University of Manchester, UK)



This communication (including any attachments) is intended solely for the
recipient(s) named above and may contain
information that is confidential, privileged or legally protected. Any
unauthorized use or dissemination of this communication
is strictly prohibited. If you have received this communication in error,
please immediately notify the sender by return email message
and delete all copies of the original communication. Thank you for your

                To unsubscribe, send an empty email to
     mailto:[log in to unmask]
    For further details of CHI lists see