ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)" <[log in to unmask]>
Wed, 10 Sep 2008 14:49:17 +0100
text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
text/plain (257 lines)
EuroITV2009 - "Networked Television" 


7th European Interactive TV Conference 

June 3rd to 5th 2009 

Leuven, Belgium <> 



1st Call for Papers 


The EuroITV conference brings together researchers and practitioners
from diverse disciplines that include human-computer interaction, media
studies, computer science, telecommunications, audiovisual design and
management. The organizing committee invites you to submit original,
high quality papers addressing the special theme and topics, for
presentation at the conference and inclusion in the proceedings. The
main conference proceedings will be published by ACM. 


The special theme is "Networked Television", which will be addressed
from a technological as well as a user point of view, including
economical and business aspects. 



Important Dates: 


Tutorials and Workshop Proposals 

November 7th, 2008 


Full Paper Submissions 

December 19th, 2008 


Short Papers, Posters, Doctoral Consortium, Demos 

January 30th, 2009 


More information about other sessions, e.g. for business oriented work,
will follow soon. 


More details can be found on:



This year's conference consists of three tracks, each with their own
program committee and a separate track chair, coordinated by an overall
Program Chair. Full papers, short papers and posters have to be
submitted in one of these tracks, to optimize the review process. If not
sure, choose the track which is closest to the main topic of your
submission, and of which you feel that community is most appropriate to
review your work. 


Track 1: Human-Computer Interaction (Chair: Lyn Pemberton) 

Track 2: Media, Social and Economic Studies (Chair: Jo Pierson) 

Track 3: Systems and Enabling Technologies (Chair: Cristian Hesselman) 



Papers are solicited from, but not limited to the following topics: 


*	Beyond the home context, extended home, Mobile TV 
*	Ambient intelligence, ambient media environments 
*	Social TV, sociability, usability and user experience 
*	Digital content production, HDTV and digital cinema 
*	Asset management, metadata and content enrichment 
*	Entertainment computing, games, betting, game shows 
*	Broadband, IPTV, 3DTV and VR systems 
*	Audience research, television studies, ethnography, user studies

*	New advertising and revenue models for television 
*	Accessibility, universal access, multimodal interaction 
*	Business models, media management, media economics, t-commerce,
*	Web2.0, social media, community television, user-generated
*	Communication services, video conferencing, messaging 
*	Content management, digital rights management 
*	Interactive storytelling, interactive advertising 
*	Electronic program guide, video search, video navigation 
*	Enhanced TV (news, weather, sports) 
*	Changes in technical requirements and infrastructures
(ubiquitous and mobile) 
*	Standards (TV-Anytime, MPEG-4, MPEG-7, SMIL) 
*	Multimedia, graphics, broadcast and video technology 
*	Personalization, user modeling, intelligent user interfaces 
*	Ethical, regulatory and policy issues 
*	Everyday life practices by family, elderly, youngsters and
*	Digital divide and e-inclusion issues 
*	Methods for digital television research and design 



Paper submissions will be peer-reviewed. The main proceedings will be
published by ACM, and be made available in the ACM Digital Library ( <> ). Extended versions of
selected papers will be considered for a special issue in a journal. 



Conference Organizing Committee: 


General Chair: 

Prof. Dr. Dirk De Grooff (K.U.Leuven, Belgium) 

Program Chairs: 

David Geerts (K.U.Leuven, Belgium) and Pablo Cesar (CWI, The

Tutorials Chair: 

Regina Bernhaupt (University of Salzburg, Austria) 

Doctoral Consortium Chair: 

George Lekakos (Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece) 

Demonstration Chairs: 

Erika Reponen (Nokia, Finland) and Hendrik Knoche (University College
London, UK) 

Short Papers & Posters Chairs: 

Christof van Nimwegen (K.U.Leuven, Belgium) and Judith Masthoff
(University of Aberdeen, UK) 

Workshop Chairs: 

Gunnar Harboe (Motorola Labs, USA) and Marianna Obrist (University of
Salzburg, Austria) 

Business Cases Chairs: 

Karin Slegers (K.U.Leuven, Belgium) and Artur Lugmayr (Tampere
University of Technology, Finland) 

Arts Chair: 

Konstantinos Chorianopoulos (Ionian University, Greece) 

Track Chairs: 

Lyn Pemberton (University of Brighton, UK), Jo Pierson (Free University
of Brussels, Belgium) and Cristian Hesselman (Telematica Institute, The



Program Committee: 


To be announced 





For up to date information and further details please visit: 


Send any inquiry about the conference to: 

[log in to unmask] <mailto:[log in to unmask]> 


To receive updates about the EuroITV2009 Conference, subscribe to the
Conference mailing list by sending a mail to
[log in to unmask]
<mailto:[log in to unmask]>  with the words "subscribe
euroitv2009" (without quotes) in the body of the mail, or use this link:
mailto:[log in to unmask]
<mailto:[log in to unmask]> 





Centre for User Experience Research (CUO), IBBT / K.U.Leuven (
<> ) 




                To unsubscribe, send an empty email to
     mailto:[log in to unmask]
    For further details of CHI lists see