ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Matthew Turk <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Matthew Turk <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 4 Nov 2008 14:21:19 -0800
text/plain (242 lines)
Dear Colleagues,


The deadline for submissions to the Workshop on Media Arts, Science, and
Technology (MAST) has been extended to next Friday, November 14th. Please
pass this on to interested colleagues and students. We hope that you will
consider submitting and attending this unique meeting of interactive media
researchers and practitioners.



            Matthew Turk


Professor, Computer Science Department

Chair, Media Arts and Technology Graduate Program

University of California

Santa Barbara, CA 93106-5110

Phone: 805-893-4236

Fax: 805-893-8553

Email: [log in to unmask]




The Future of Interactive Media:

Workshop on Media Arts, Science, and Technology (MAST)


January 29-30, 2009, Santa Barbara, CA

Final submission deadline: November 14, 2008


The Workshop on Media Arts, Sciences, and Technology (MAST) will be held in
Santa Barbara, CA on January 29-30, 2009. The goal of this workshop is to
bring together leading digital media researchers and practitioners who work
at the intersection of arts and engineering, in order to explore key
challenges and promising directions in digital arts, experiential media
systems, creative environments, and emerging media technologies. The two-day
workshop will consist of invited keynote presentations, short talks, poster
sessions, media installations, demos, and panel discussions. The format will
provide ample opportunities for participants to interact in an informal
setting and explore further collaborations. 


The workshop is jointly hosted by NSF IGERT programs at Arizona State
University (Experiential Media) and UC Santa Barbara (Interactive Digital
Multimedia), and sponsored by the National Science Foundation. 


The workshop will take place on the UCSB campus. A limited number of travel
grants of up to $500 will be available for graduate students presenting at
the workshop. 


Participants are invited to submit extended abstracts describing their
relevant research, production, or media artifact. Accepted abstracts will be
presented at the workshop as posters, media art, or media-based


Appropriate topics include, but are not limited to:


-         Novel human computer interaction methods and technologies

-         Arts and medicine

-         Electronic music

-         Interactive visual media

-         Sound analysis and synthesis

-         Media signal processing

-         Sensing and modeling of human activity

-         Multimodal interaction

-         Embodied interaction

-         Creative environments

-         Experiential construction

-         Mediated education

-         Mediating complexity

-         Reflective media

-         Community collaboration tools

-         Participatory media


Submissions should be in the form of an extended abstract (up to three
pages) or a media work with an associated brief (one page) abstract.
Media-based work may be submitted in a variety of formats (video, audio,
Flash presentation, etc.). In both cases, the abstract should communicate
the goal or intent of the research or creative work and explain its
contributions and/or significance. Further information is available on the
workshop web site:


Submissions will be reviewed by the program committee, evaluated according
to perceived merit and relevance to the workhop. The workshop will not
publish official proceedings, but accepted abstracts and media submissions
will be made available to attendees and on the web. 


Key Dates:

Abstract Submission

Nov 14, 2008 [final extended deadline]

Acceptance Notifications

Dec 5, 2008

Hotel Reservations

Dec 15, 2008

Workshop Registration

Dec 15, 2008

Workshop Dates

Jan 29-30, 2009


Workshop Chairs:

B. S. Manjunath, UCSB

Thanassis Rikakis, ASU


Program Chairs:

Matthew Turk, UCSB

Hari Sundaram, ASU


Demo/Exhibition Chairs:

Tobias Hollerer, UCSB

George Legrady, UCSB


Local Arrangements:

Tim Robinson, UCSB


Program Committee:

Shawn Brixey, DXArts

Sheldon Brown, UCSD

Grisha Coleman, ASU

Chris Csikszentmihályi, MIT

Jerry Gibson, UCSB

Ken Goldberg, UC Berkeley

Ramesh Jain, UC Irvine

Richard Karpen, DXArts

Aisling Kelliher, ASU

Andruid Kerne, Texas A&M

JoAnn Kuchera-Morin, UCSB

Dom Massaro, UC Santa Cruz

Simon Penny, UC Irvine

Stephen Pope, UCSB

Gang Qian, ASU

Warren Sack, UC Santa Cruz





                To unsubscribe, send an empty email to
     mailto:[log in to unmask]
    For further details of CHI lists see