ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Alex Jaimes <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Alex Jaimes <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 15 Apr 2008 14:52:44 -0400
text/plain (189 lines)
Due to large number of requests we decided to extend the full paper
submission deadline (all 4 tracks) to April 27, 2008.

ACM International Conference on Multimedia
Vancouver, BC, Canada
October 27 - November 1, 2008

ACM Multimedia 2008 invites you to submit to the premier annual
multimedia conference, covering all aspects of multimedia computing:
from underlying technologies to applications, theory to practice, and
servers to networks to devices.  ACM Multimedia 2008 will be colocated
with ACM International Conference on Multimedia Information Retrieval
ACM MIR 2008 October 30-31, 2008 Vancouver, Canada

The technical program will consist of plenary sessions and talks with
topics of interest in:
(a)     Multimedia content analysis, processing, and retrieval;
(b)     Multimedia networking, sensor networks, and systems support;
(c)     Multimedia tools, end-systems, and applications; and 
(d)     Human-Centered Multimedia (*** NEW TRACK).

*** Topics for the Human-Centered Track include, but are not limited to the
following: Multimodal HCI, social network analysis, behavioral pattern
recognition, interactive data mining, user modeling and profiling,
user-centered domain knowledge acquisition, representation, reasoning, etc.,
socio-cultural, psychological, ethnographical, and cognitive perspectives in
multimedia (modeling, and personalization) new methodologies and
interdisciplinary approaches that integrate human abilities in the
development of multimedia algorithms.

----- Key Dates ----
NEW FIRM Deadline ==> April 27, 2008 Full Paper

June 06, 2008  
Short Paper/Video Program/Interactive Art Program/ Short Paper/ Open
Source/Doctor Program/Demo Proposal Submission Deadline

June 27, 2008
Notification of Acceptance
Awards will be given to the best paper and the best student paper as
well as to the best demo, best art program paper, and the
best-contributed open-source software.  Extended version of the four
candidate Best Papers (one from each track) will appear in a special
section in the ACM Transactions on Multimedia Computing,
Communications, and Applications" ( )

Panels will consist of discussions on timely and controversial topics.

Short Papers will be presented in poster format and are an opportunity
for researchers to present new work and ideas in an interactive

State-of-the-Art Tutorials lead by experts will precede the technical
program. The full- and half-day offerings will span a wide variety of

Brave New Topics is a special session&#146;s track containing papers, which
establishes foundational areas and extend the boundaries of multimedia

Technical Demos will include leading edge work in every area of
multimedia technology and its application.

Video Demonstrations allow researchers and artists to demonstrate
their tool, system or application without having to bring the
equipment for a live demo.

The Interactive Art Program will include long and short papers
describing interactive multimedia art works, tools, applications, and
technical approaches for creative uses of multimedia content and
technology. It will also include an art exhibition.

Workshops on topics of current interest to members of the multimedia
research community will follow the technical program.

Doctoral Symposium is an opportunity for students involved in the
preparation of a PhD to interactively discuss their research issues
and ideas with senior researchers, and receive constructive feedback
from members of the research community.

The Open-source Software Competition is a recent addition to the ACM
Multimedia program and 2008 will be our fourth year of running the

Organizing Commitee  	  

General Co-Chairs 
Abdulmotaleb EL Saddik (Univ. of Ottawa)
Son Vuong (Univ. of British Colombia)

Program Co-Chairs 
Carsten Griwodz (Univ. of Oslo)
Alberto Del Bibmo (Univ. degli Studi di Firenze)
K. Selcuk Candan (Arizona State Univ.)
Alejandro Jaimes (Telefonica R&D, Madrid, Spain)

Short Paper Co-Chairs
Gopal S Pingali (IBM, Watson)
Changsheng Xu (I2R, Singapore)
Shervin Shirmohammadi (Univ. of Ottawa) 

Workshop Co-Chairs
Max Mühlhäuser (TUD, Germany)
Dulce Ponceleon (IBM, Almaden)

Tutorial Chair
Roger Zimmerman (NUS, Singapore)

Publicity Co-Chairs
Yong Rui (Microsoft, China)
Markus Kampmann (Ericsson, Sweden)
Jiebo Luo (Kodak Research Lab, USA)
Wolfgang Effelsberg (Univ. of Mannheim)

Technical Demo Co-Chairs 
Pål Halvorsen (Univ. of Oslo)
Anup Basu (Univ. of Alberta)

Proceedings Chair 
Balakrishnan Prabhakaran (Univ. of Texas at Dallas)

Panel Co-Chairs 
Suzanne Boll (Univ. of Oldenburg)
Tanveer Syeda-Mahmood (IBM, Almaden)

Finance Chair
Azzedine Boukerche (Univ. of Ottawa)

Doctorial Symposium Co-Chairs
Hari Sundaram (Arizona State Univ)
Kiyoharu Aizawa (University of Tokyo)

Sponsoring Co-Chairs
Panos Nasiopoulos (Univ. of British Columbia)
Victor Leung  (Univ. of British Columbia)

Brave New Topics Co-Chairs
Ling Guan (Ryerson University)
Zhengyou Zhang (Microsoft Research)

Travel Grant Co-Chairs
Christoph Rensing (HTTC)
Shueng-Han Gary Chan (Hong Kong Univ. of Science and Technology)

Interactive Art Program Co-Chairs
Frank Nack (Univ. Claude Bernard Lyon)
Andruid Kerne (Texas A & M University)
Ron Wakarry (Simone Fraser University)

Web Chair
Atif Alamri (Univ. of Ottawa)
Pradeep K. Atrey (Univ. of Ottawa)

Video Program Chair
Thomas Haenselmann (Univ. of Mannheim)

History Preservation Chair
Matthias Hollick (TU Darmstadt)

Open Source Competition Chair
Oliver Heckman (Google)
Arnd Steinmetz (Fachhochschule Darmstadt)

Registration Chair
Rosa Iglesias (Ikerlan Research Centre)

Local Arrangement Co-Chairs
Charles Buck Krasic (Univ. of British Colombia)
Sidney Fels (Univ. of British Colombia)

SIG MM Chair
Klara Nahrstedt (Univ. of Illinois)

SIG MM Director of Conferences
Nevenka Dimitrova (Philips)

                To unsubscribe, send an empty email to
     mailto:[log in to unmask]
    For further details of CHI lists see