ACM SIGMM Interest List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
1.0 (Apple Message framework v1084)
text/plain; charset=windows-1252
Fri, 5 Oct 2012 07:58:03 -0400
Alexander Varshavsky <[log in to unmask]>
ACM SIGMM Interest List <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (119 lines)
The 14th Annual International Workshop on Mobile Computing
        Systems and Applications (ACM HotMobile 2013)
                  Sponsored by ACM SIGMOBILE

  Paper submission deadline has been extended to October 11th, 2012  23:59pm EST

                     26-27 February, 2013
                    Jekyll Island, GA, USA
ACM HotMobile 2013, the Fourteenth International Workshop on Mobile Computing
Systems and Applications continues the series of highly selective, interactive
workshops focused on mobile applications, systems, and environments, as well as
their underlying state-of-the-art technologies. HotMobile's small workshop format
makes it ideal for presenting and discussing new directions or controversial
We solicit submissions of position papers that focus primarily on applications and
systems and that propose new directions of research, advocate non-traditional
approaches to old (or new) ideas, or generate controversy and discussion. We
particularly look for position papers containing highly original ideas in the following
topic areas, although papers describing other challenges unique to or exacerbated
by mobility are also welcome: 
*   Operating system and distributed system support for mobile computing
*   Coordination, aggregation, and spontaneous interaction of mobile devices
*   Novel applications, environments, and devices supporting mobility
*   HCI issues related to mobile computing
*   Security and privacy of mobile computing
*   Management, configuration, and deployment of systems supporting mobility
Submissions describing new lower-level technologies are welcome if they focus on
how the technology is being used or integrated into a system or application.
ACM HotMobile 2013 will be a highly interactive workshop. Submissions will be judged
based upon originality, technical merit, topical relevance, and likelihood of leading
to insightful discussion at the workshop. Presentation at HotMobile is a good way
to get early feedback on research ideas that are a year or more from submission
as a full conference paper to the ACM MobiSys conference or other high-quality
conferences. Submitting a full-length paper on the same topic to MobiSys in less
than a year is unlikely to involve a sufficient increment of work and maturity of ideas.
As is customary, papers must not have been published elsewhere and may not be
simultaneously under submission at another venue. Papers accompanied by
nondisclosure agreement forms are not acceptable and will be returned to the
author(s) unread. As customary with the scientific peer review process, submissions
will be handled as confidential material during the review.
Submissions should contain 6 or fewer U.S. letter pages in PDF format, including
all references, figures and tables. Papers should use the standard ACM template,
available at:
For more submission guidelines, please visit the conference website.
Important Dates
Paper Submission:            October 11th, 2012  23:59pm EST
Acceptance Notification:   December 12th, 2012
Camera Ready Deadline:  January 16th, 2013
Organizing Committee:
General Chair
   Sharad Agarwal, Microsoft Research, US
Program Chair
   Alexander Varshavsky, AT&T Labs, US
Posters & Demos Chair
   Nilanjan Banerjee, University of Arkansas, US
Student Volunteer Chair
   Souvik Sen, HP Labs, US
Publicity Chair
   Andreas Bulling, University of Cambridge, UK
Web Chair
   Christos Efstratiou, University of Cambridge, UK
Program Committee:
Rajesh Krishna Balan, Singapore Management University, SG
Suman Banerjee, University of Wisconsin-Madison, US
Nina Bhatti, HP Labs, US
Gaetano Borriello, University of Washington, US
Ramon Caceres, AT&T Labs, US
David Chu, Microsoft Research, US
Landon Cox, Duke University, US
Nigel Davies, Lancaster University, UK
Maria Ebling, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, US
Roxana Geambasu, Columbia University, US
Marco Gruteser, WINLAB, Rutgers University, US
Jason Hong, Carnegie Mellon University, US
Anthony LaMarca, Intel Labs, US
Marc Langheinrich, University of Lugano (USI), Switzerland
Stefan Saroiu, Microsoft Research, US
Mahadev Satyanarayanan, Carnegie Mellon University, US
James Scott, Microsoft Research, UK
Srinivasan Seshan, Carnegie Mellon University, US
Roy Want, Google, US 
Matt Welsh, Google, US
Lin Zhong, Rice University, US

To unsubscribe from the MM-INTEREST list:
write to: mailto:[log in to unmask]
or click the following link: