ACM SIGMM Interest List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Maha Abdallah <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Maha Abdallah <[log in to unmask]>
Mon, 26 Feb 2018 14:58:42 +0100
text/plain (122 lines)
The 16th Annual Workshop on Network and Systems Support for Games 
(NetGames 2018)
Co-located with ACM MMSys 2018
June 12-15, 2018, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

In cooperation with ACM SIGCOMM and ACM SIGMM

The 16th Annual Workshop on Network and Systems Support for Games 
(NetGames 2018) will be co-located with ACM Multimedia Systems 
Conference (MMSys 2018) and held from June 12 - 15, 2018 in Amsterdam, 
The Netherlands. NetGames will be one of the four co-located workshops 
of MMSys with NOSSDAV, Packet Video, and MMVE.

Important Dates
Submission deadline: March 15, 2018
Acceptance notification : April 20, 2018
Camera ready deadline: April 27, 2018

Area of Interest
NetGames brings together researchers and practitioners from academia and 
industry across the globe to present their latest research on the 
challenges of today's online gaming industry. NetGames accept papers 
dealing with networked games, but also with the online services that are 
based on games, such as e-sport, gamecasting, immersion in games, and 
arcade rooms. Submissions are solicited on all aspects of online games, 
including (but not limited to):

- Architecture for online games: Scalability, cloud support, mobile, 
P2P, edge-computing, middleware...
- Performance evaluation: Network traffic measurement, data analytics, 
system benchmarking, game engines monitoring...
- Gaming in the real world: Augmented reality, Internet of Things (IoT), 
multisensory games...
- Gamecasting and e-Sport: Video capturing and sharing, game 
broadcasting, event networking aspects...
- Technologies enabling immersion in gaming: Virtual Reality, network to 
Head-Mounted-Displays, wearable sensors, visualization support, arcade 
- Social networking and games: Conferencing in multiplayer games, 
bullying prevention, interactions in gamecasting...
- Game service management: Security (authentication, accounting and 
digital rights management), cheat detection and prevention, 
user-generated content authoring and management...

NetGames 2018 welcomes two types of papers: regular papers to be 
presented in the single-track program of Netgames, and demo papers, 
which describe a demonstration that authors will present in the MMSys 
demo session. Authors of regular papers are also invited to present 
their work in the demo session.

Reviews will be single-blind; authors must include their names and 
affiliations on the first page. Papers should not be under review at 
another venue nor previously published elsewhere. Submission of a paper 
for review will be considered your agreement that at least one author 
will register and attend the workshop if your paper is accepted.

Submissions should be at most 6 pages in length for regular papers and 3 
pages in length for demo papers (including figures and references), 
formatted in two-column IEEE conference style with font size 10 point or 
greater. Regular papers that are shorter (at least 3 pages) will also be 
considered for presentation and publication, so work-in-progress papers 
presenting late-breaking or preliminary research results can be submitted.

The papers must be submitted on the submission platform:

Papers are eligible to DASH-IF excellence award prize:



   Gwendal Simon (IMT Atlantique, France)
   Bernard Wong (University Waterloo, Canada)

Technical Program Committee:

   Maha Abdallah (Sorbonne Université, France)
   Samer Al-Kiswany (Univ Waterloo Canada)
   Rocky Chang (Hong-Kong Polytechnic Univ, Hong-Kong)
   Kuan-Ta Chen (Sinica Taiwan, Taiwan)
   Mark Claypool (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA)
   Felix Cuadrado (Queen Mary University of London, UK)
   Eduardo Cuervo (Microsoft, USA)
   Wolfgang Effelsberg (Univ Mannheim, Germany)
   Steven Gianvecchio (MITRE, USA)
   Carsten Griwodz (Simula, Univ Oslo, Norway)
   Huy Kang Kim (Korea University, Korea)
   Wei-Tsang Ooi (National Univ of Singapore, Singapore)
   Jose Saldana (Univ of Zaragoza, Spain)
   Gregor Schiele (Univ of Duisburg-Essen, Germany)
   Siqi Shen (National Univ of Defense Technology, China)
   Yueshi Shen (Twitch, Inc., USA)
   Matti Siekkinen (Aalto Univ, Finland)
   Mirko Suznjevic (University of Zagreb, Croatia)
   Ruck Thawonmas (Ritsumeikan Univ, Japan)
   Di Wu (Sun Yat-sen Univ Guangzhou, China)

Steering Committee:

   Maha Abdallah (Sorbonne Université, France)
   Kuan-ta Chen (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
   Mark Claypool (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA)
   Chris GauthierDickey (Denver University, USA)
   Carsten Griwodz (Simula Research Laboratory, Norway)
   Yutaka Ishibashi (Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan)