ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)" <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 3 May 2011 10:16:14 +0200
"IJsselsteijn, W.A." <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
"IJsselsteijn, W.A." <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (136 lines)
                                    ** Call for Papers **

                                      1st workshop on

                  Augmenting Social Interaction through Affective Computing

                                    Workshop at ACII 2011

                              Apologies for multiple postings

Augmenting Social Interaction through Affective Computing is the first workshop on affective computing that specifically aims to improve or enhance social interaction among humans. Social interactions, whether mediated or face-to-face, can benefit significantly from advances in affective computing and social signal processing. Example application areas include mental healthcare, training and coaching, negotiation, and close intimate interactions. To address this topic, we invite submissions on the relation between social interaction between humans and affective computing technologies.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

*     Case studies on applying affective computing to social interaction

*     Psychological insights into affective aspects of  social interaction

*     Affective signal processing specific to augmenting social interaction

*     Detailed application concepts for augmenting social interaction

*     Ethical aspects of augmented social interaction

*     Methodological issues in evaluating social interaction applications

*     Theoretical frameworks to guide research on augmented social interaction

The workshop will be held in conjunction with the 4th International conference on Affective Computing and Intelligent Interaction (ACII2011) at the FedEx Institute of Technology at the University of Memphis, TN.

Submission Instructions

* The papers should feature original empirical work, theoretical work, or a well defendable but arguable position of the authors (i.e., not submitted, in submission, or submitted to another conference or journal while in review).

* Papers will be published in the proceedings of ACII 2011 by Springer. Papers should not exceed 10 pages and should be formatted according to the Springer LNCS formatting guidelines

* Papers must be submitted as PDF through the EasyChair conference system, which can be accessed through the workshop web site and the ACII conference website.

* Any questions can be emailed to Joris H. Janssen ([log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>)

Important Dates (strict deadlines)

June 19th, 2011 Submissions due

July 10th, 2011 Acceptance notification

July 24th, 2011 Camera ready versions due

Organizing committee

* Joris Janssen, Eindhoven University of Technology and Philips Research, [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>

* Jeremy Bailenson, Stanford University, [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>

* Wijnand IJsselsteijn, Eindhoven University of Technology, [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>

* Joyce Westerink, Philips Research, [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>

* Kai Kuikkaniemi, Helsinki Institute for Information Technology, [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>

Program committee

Johannes Breuer (University Hohenheim)

Dr. Egon L. van den Broek (University of Twente)

Dr. Stephen Fairclough (Liverpool John Moores University)

Dr. Antal Haans (Eindhoven University of Technology)

Dr. Wouter van den Hoogen (Eindhoven University of Technology)

Prof. Dr. Kristina Hook (Stockholm University/KTH)

Prof. Dr. Nicole Kramer (University Duisburg - Essen)

Dr. Yvonne de Kort (Eindhoven University of Technology)

Prof. Dr. Panos Markopoulos (Eindhoven University of Technology)

Dr. Lennart Nacke (University of Saskatchewan)

Prof. Dr. Anton Nijholt (University of Twente)

Dr. Johan Plomp (VTT Electronics)

Marjolein van der Zwaag (Philips Research)

dr. Wijnand IJsselsteijn
Associate professor
Human-Technology Interaction Group
School of Innovation Sciences
Eindhoven University of Technology

                To unsubscribe, send an empty email to
     mailto:[log in to unmask]
    For further details of CHI lists see