ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"Sen, Souvik" <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Sen, Souvik
Mon, 14 Jan 2013 07:50:00 +0000
text/plain (67 lines)
IEEE International Workshop on Security and Privacy of
Mobile, Wireless and Sensor Networks
                                                                               9:00Am - 5:00pm, June 23, 2013
Co-located with IEEE SECON 2013<> at new Orleans USA

To cope with the rapid increase in mobile users and the increasing demand for mobile, wireless and sensor networks (MWSNs), it is becoming imperative to provide the necessary security protocols and privacy guarantees to users of MWSNs. In turn, these specific demands in security and privacy require new methodologies that are specifically designed to cope with the strict requirements of the networks. In general, the real-world performance of MWSNs crucially depends on the selected protocols, and their suitability and efficiency for the layers of the implementation. A satisfactory security design and protocol are therefore crucial for the performance of MWSNs. It is a great challenge to achieve efficient and robust realizations of such highly dynamic and secure MWSNs. Moreover, the study of security and privacy in the context of MWSNs provides insights into problems and solutions that are orthogonal to programming languages, programming paradigms, computer hardware, and other aspects of the implementation. The objective for this workshop is to address those topics, which we believe will play an important role in current and future research on and education of MWSNs.

The workshop will focus on, but not limited to, the following areas:
 Security models and architectures for MWSNs;
 Routing security in MWSNs;
 MWSNs topology control/node access control;
 Anonymity/authentication and application;
 Various privacy and security models;
 Privacy-preserving systems;
 Security and verifiability in network protocols;
 Distributed systems security;
 Security and privacy policies;
 Intrusion detection;
 Educational topics on MWSNs;
 Case studies.

The workshop is planned for one day on June 23, 2013 before the conference, with two keynote speeches, two technical sessions, and a concluding panel discussion. The keynote speeches will be delivered by two well-known researchers in the field. All submissions must describe original research, not published nor currently under review for another workshop, conference, or journal. All papers must be submitted electronically via the EDAS system: Papers must be no longer than 8 pages and in font size no smaller than 10 points. Detailed layout guidelines except the page length are the same as recommended in Submission implies the willingness of at least one author to attend the workshop and present the paper. Accepted papers will be included in the main proceedings of IEEE SECON 2013 and published by IEEE. The presenter must register for the workshop before the deadline for author registration. The accepted papers will be compiled in the workshop proceedings as either a regular paper within 8-pages or a poster paper within 2-pages. A limited number of high quality submissions will be selected for publication in a special issue of International Journal of Security and Networks.  Reduced registration fees will be provided to selected participants through an NSF grant.

   Organizing Committee
  Wei Wayne Li (Texas Southern University)
Chair of the Organizing Committee
  Rakesh Verma (University of Houston (UH))
Chair of the Technical Program Committee
  Stephen Huang (University of Houston)
Chair of the Website
  Lila Ghemri (Texas Southern University)
Chair of the Poster Session
  M. Farrukh Khan (Texas Southern University)
Chair of Publicity
  Shengli Yuan (UH  Downtown)
Chair of Panel Sessions

   Technical Program Committee
  Rakesh Verma (University of Houston), Co-Chair
  Sushil Jajodia (George Mason University), Co-Chair
  Attahiru Alfa (University of Manitoba)
  Serhan Dagtas (University of Arkansas)
  Michael Fang (University of Florida)
  Aaron D. Jaggard (Naval Research Laboratory)
  Jesus U. Quevedo (University of Wisconsin)
  Carol Taylor (East Washington University)
  Yang Xiao (University of Alabama)
  Jianhua Yang (Columbus State University)
  Aidong Zhang (State University of New York)

      Important Dates
  Paper Submission Deadline: March 22, 2013;
  Acceptance Notification: April 22, 2013;
Camera Ready: May 1, 201

    For news of CHI books, courses & software, join CHI-RESOURCES
     mailto: [log in to unmask]

    To unsubscribe from CHI-ANNOUNCEMENTS send an email to
     mailto:[log in to unmask]

    For further details of CHI lists see