ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Jan Hess <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Thu, 9 Feb 2012 12:06:55 +0100
text/plain (100 lines)
EuroITV2012 – “Bridging People, Places and Platforms”

10th European Interactive TV Conference
4th – 6th July 2012 - Berlin, Germany

**Call for Short Papers, Posters, Demos, Doctoral Consortium and Industry Cases**
Deadline for submissions: 4th March, 2012

EuroITV is the leading international conference for media and interaction related to video and television. This year's theme of "Bridging People, Places and Platforms" focuses on synergies to support current practice and to explore new perspectives – empowering users to interact with content and each other across localities and across various delivery platforms and media.

Researchers and practitioners from all over the world meet to discuss latest advances on media technology, HCI, systems & technology, media studies, and the content creation community. We invite original, high quality submissions addressing how digital technologies open up new ways of consumption and interaction with rich-media content. Short papers should present mature work, offering a smaller but still significant contribution to interactive television research, and is not intended for presenting preliminary results or work in progress.

This year’s conference consists of three tracks -- each with its own program committee and separate track chairs -- coordinated by two overall program chairs. Short papers and posters have to be submitted in one of these tracks, to optimize the review process. If not sure, choose the track, which is closest to the main topic of your submission, and of which you feel that community is most appropriate to review your work. More details on each track can be found on the website:

Track 1: Human-Computer Interaction
Track 2: Media, Social and Economic Studies
Track 3: Systems and Enabling Technologies

Key areas considered are:
- mobility
- interactivity
- systems, prototypes, & designs
- empowerment (control, accessibility, participation and UGC)
- user & content based application systems
- personalization
- social consumption and communication practices.

Important Dates

Short Papers, Posters, Doctoral Consortium, Demos
4th March, 2012

Short paper submissions will be peer-reviewed in a double-blind fashion. Accepted short papers will be published by ACM, and be made available in the ACM Digital Library ( Short paper submissions accepted as posters and accepted posters will be included in the adjunct proceedings along with accepted demos, doctoral consortium and iTV in industry papers.

General Chairs
- Stefan Arbanowski, FOKUS Fraunhofer, Berlin, Germany
- Stephan Steglich, FOKUS, Fraunhofer, Berlin, Germany

Program Chairs 
- Hendrik Knoche, EPFL, Switzerland
- Jan Hess, University of Siegen, Germany

Tutorials & Workshop Chairs
- Maria da Graça Pimentel, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
- Regina Bernhaupt, Ruwido, Austria

Doctoral Consortium Chairs
- Marianna Obrist, University of Newcastle, UK
- George Lekakos, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece

Demonstration Chairs
- Jean-Claude Dufourd, France Telecom
- Lyndon Nixon, STI, Vienna, Austria

iTV in Industry
- Patrick Huber, Sky Germany

Grand challenge chair
- Artur Lugmayr, Tampere Univ. of Technology, Finland
- Milena Szafir, Manifesto 21.TV, Brazil

Track Chairs (Full, short papers and posters)

Track 1: Human-Computer Interaction 
- Gunnar Stevens, University of Siegen, Germany
- Florian Müller, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT), Australia

Track 2: Media, Social and Economic Studies
- Célia Quico, Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias, Portugal
- Filomena Papa, Fondazione Ugo Bordoni, Roma, Italy

Track 3: Systems and Enabling Technologies 
- David A. Shamma,  Yahoo! Research, USA
- Teresa Chambel, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal

Sponsors Chairs
- Oliver Friedrich, Deutsche Telekom/T-Systems, Germany
- Ajit Jaokar, Futuretext, UK
- Shelley Buchinger, University of Vienna, Austria

Publicity Chairs
- David Geerts, CUO, IBBT / K.U. Leuven, Belgium
- Robert Seeliger, FOKUS Fraunhofer, Berlin, Germany

Local Chair
- Robert Kleinfeld, FOKUS Fraunhofer, Berlin, Germany

Send any inquiry about the conference to:
[log in to unmask] 

FOKUS Fraunhofer Institut, Berlin, Germany
                To unsubscribe, send an empty email to
     mailto:[log in to unmask]
    For further details of CHI lists see