ACM SIGMM Interest List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"A. El Saddik" <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
A. El Saddik
Wed, 2 Apr 2008 20:32:14 -0400
text/plain (183 lines)
                         Call for Papers
              *ACM International Conference on Multimedia*
                 Pan Pacific Hotel, Vancouver, BC, Canada
                     October 27 – November 1, 2008

ACM Multimedia 2008 invites your participation in the premier annual
Multimedia conference, covering all aspects of multimedia computing:
from underlying technologies to applications, theory to practice, and
servers to networks to devices.

The technical program will consist of plenary sessions and talks with
topics of interest in:

(a) Multimedia content analysis, processing, and retrieval;
(b) Multimedia networking and systems support;
(c) Multimedia tools, end-systems, and applications; and
(d) Human-centered Multimedia.

ACM Multimedia 2008 will be colocated with ACM International Conference
on Multimedia Information Retrieval *ACM MIR 2008*
<>, October 30-31, 2008 Vancouver, Canada.

*Key Dates*  ----------------

*April 11, 2008* Full Paper Registration (Abstract –Submission)
*April 18, 2008* Full Paper/Panel/Workshop Submission Deadline
*June 06, 2008 * Short Paper/Video Program/Interactive Art Program/
Short Paper/ Open  Source/Doctor Program/Demo Proposal Submission
*June 27, 2008* Notification of Acceptance

*Awards* will be given to the best paper and the best student paper as
well as to the best demo, best art program paper, and the
best-contributed open-source software.

Extended version of the four candidate Best Papers (one from each of the
four main tracks) will appear in a special section in the ACM
Transactions on Multimedia Computing, Communications, and Applications
(TOM CCAP <>).

*Panels *will consist of discussions on timely and controversial topics.

*Full Papers *will be high-quality original contributions that will be
presented in the oral sessions.

*Short Papers *will be presented in poster format and are an opportunity
for researchers to present new work and ideas in an interactive setting.

*State-of-the-Art Tutorials *lead by experts will precede the technical
program. The full- and half-day offerings will span a wide variety of

*Brave New Topics *is a special session’s track containing papers, which
establishes foundational areas and extend the boundaries of multimedia

*Technical Demos *will include leading edge work in every area of
multimedia technology and its application.

*Video Demonstrations *allow researchers and artists to demonstrate
their tool, system or application without having to bring the equipment
for a “live” demo.

*The Interactive Art Program *will include long and short papers
describing interactive multimedia art works, tools, applications, and
technical approaches for creative uses of multimedia content and
technology. It will also include an art exhibition.

*Workshops *on topics of current interest to members of the multimedia
research community will follow the technical program.

*Doctoral Symposium *is an opportunity for students involved in the
preparation of a PhD to interactively discuss their research issues and
ideas with senior researchers, and receive constructive feedback from
members of the research community.

*The Open-source Software Competition *is a recent addition to the ACM
Multimedia program and 2008 will be our fourth year of running the

-- Organizing Committee --

*General Co-Chairs *
Abdulmotaleb EL Saddik (Univ. of Ottawa)
Son Vuong (Univ. of British Colombia)

*Program Co-Chairs *
Carsten Griwodz (Univ. of Oslo)
Alberto Del Bimbo (Univ. degli Studi di Firenze)
K. Selcuk Candan (Arizona State Univ.)
Alejandro Jaimes (IDIAP Research Institute)

*Short Paper Co-Chairs*
Gopal S Pingali (IBM, Watson)
Changsheng Xu (I2R, Singapore)
Shervin Shirmohammadi (Univ. of Ottawa)

*Workshop Co-Chairs
*Max Mühlhäuser (TUD, Germany)
Dulce Ponceleon (IBM, Almaden)

*Tutorial Chair*
Roger Zimmerman (NUS, Singapore)

*Publicity Co-Chairs*
Yong Rui (Microsoft, China)
Markus Kampmann (Ericsson, Sweden)
Jiebo Luo (Kodak Research Lab, USA)
Wolfgang Effelsberg (Univ. of Mannheim)

*Technical Demo Co-Chairs *
Pål Halvorsen (Univ. of Oslo)
Anup Basu (Univ. of Alberta)

*Proceedings Chair *
Balakrishnan Prabhakaran (Univ. of Texas at Dallas)

*Panel Co-Chairs *
Suzanne Boll (Univ. of Oldenburg)
Tanveer Syeda-Mahmood (IBM, Almaden)

*Finance Chair*
Azzedine Boukerche (Univ. of Ottawa)

*Doctorial Symposium Co-Chairs*
Hari Sundaram (Arizona State Univ)
Kiyoharu Aizawa (University of Tokyo)

*Sponsoring Co-Chairs*
Panos Nasiopoulos (Univ. of British Columbia)
Victor Leung (Univ. of British Columbia)

*Brave New Topics Co-Chairs*
Ling Guan (Ryerson University)
Zhengyou Zhang (Microsoft Research)

*Travel Grant Co-Chairs*
Christoph Rensing (HTTC)
Shueng-Han Gary Chan (Hong Kong Univ. of Science and Technology)

*Interactive Art Program Co-Chairs *
Frank Nack (Univ. Claude Bernard Lyon)
Andruid Kerne (Texas A & M University)
Ron Wakarry (Simone Fraser University)

*Web Chair*
Atif Alamri (Univ. of Ottawa)
Pradeep K. Atrey (Univ. of Ottawa)

*Video Program Chair*
Thomas Haenselmann (Univ. of Mannheim)

*History Preservation Chair*
Matthias Hollick (TU Darmstadt)

*Open Source Competition Chair*
Oliver Heckman (Google)
Arnd Steinmetz (Fachhochschule Darmstadt)

*Registration Chair*
Rosa Iglesias (Ikerlan Research Centre)

*Local Arrangement Co-Chairs*
Charles Buck Krasic (Univ. of British Colombia)

*SIG MM Chair *
Klara Nahrstedt (Univ. of Illinois)

*SIG MM Director of Conferences*
Nevenka Dimitrova (Philips)

Best regards
-- Abed