Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Carey Williamson <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Carey Williamson <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 8 Mar 2011 17:00:17 -0500
text/plain (72 lines)

The year 2011 is an election year for ACM SIGMETRICS,
with voting to take place in March, and new officers
to take their seats in July 2011 for a two-year term.

Our Nominations Committee, chaired by Ed Coffman,
has constructed the following full slate of strong
candidates for ACM SIGMETRICS officers:

     Chair (choose one)
        Zhen Liu
        John C.S. Lui

     Vice Chair (choose one)
        Vishal Misra
        Cathy Honghui Xia

     Secretary/Treasurer (choose one)
        John R. Douceur
        Anwar Walid

     Board of Directors (choose four)
        Erich Nahum
        Thomas Bonald
        Rudesindo Nunez-Queija
        Adam Wierman
        Evgenia Smirni

Election statements and biographies from each candidate
will be available in the near future as part of the ACM
election process. Additional candidates can still be added
via petition, as indicated in the ACM email appended below.

Please note that you need to be a SIGMETRICS member
in order to vote in March. If your membership has
inadvertently lapsed, then now would be a good time to renew,
before ACM removes you from this mailing list.

In peripherally-related news, we are about to launch the
2011 award selection process for SIGMETRICS awards,
including Achievement Award, Rising Star Researcher Award,
and Test of Time Award. Expect to see emails regarding
these awards in the next week or two.


---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Tue, 25 Jan 2011 09:38:44 -0700
From: Monique Chang <[log in to unmask]>
Reply-To: "[log in to unmask]" <[log in to unmask]>
To: "[log in to unmask]"
     <[log in to unmask]>
Subject: 2011 SIG Election Candidate Slate Announcement

Dear SIG Member,

In accordance with ACM Bylaw 6, the following SIGs will hold elections in 2011: SIGARCH, SIGBED, SIGCAS, SIGDOC, SIGecom, SIGEVO, ACM SIGGRAPH, SIGMETRICS, SIGMICRO, SIGOPS, SIGSPATIAL, SIGUCCS and SIGWEB.

ACM Policy and Procedures require that those SIGs holding elections notify their membership of candidates for elected offices. To see the slate of candidates, please visit the 2011 ACM SIG Election site,

In accordance with the SIG Bylaws, additional candidates may be placed on the ballot by petition. All candidates must be Professional Members of ACM, as well as members of the SIG. Anyone interested in petitioning must inform ACM Headquarters (Pat Ryan, ACM, 2 Penn Plaza, Suite 701, NY, NY 10121) and the SIG Secretary (Klara Nahrstedt, [log in to unmask]) of their intent to petition by March 15.

Additional information will appear in the February issue of ACM MemberNet and on the 2011 ACM SIG Election site.

Monique Chang
ACM SIG Election Coordinator
Office of Policy and Administration