PODC Archives

ACM PODC Participants List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
text/plain; charset=windows-1252; format=flowed
Sun, 16 Mar 2014 08:53:26 -0500
Sebastian Daum <[log in to unmask]>
ACM PODC Participants List <[log in to unmask]>
Sebastian Daum <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (87 lines)
(Apologies for cross-postings)

Call for Nominations

Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing - 2014



Nominations deadline:
April 30, 2014


The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for
Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed
computing. His foundational work on concurrency, semaphores, mutual
exclusion, deadlock, finding shortest paths in graphs, fault-tolerance,
self-stabilization, among many other contributions, comprises one of the
most important supports upon which the field of distributed computing is
built. No other individual has had a larger influence on research in
principles of distributed computing.

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of
distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory
and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least
a decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.

The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of
Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed
Computing (DISC). The award is presented annually, with the presentation
taking place alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC - this year it will
be presented at PODC 2014. The winners of the award will share the cash
award, and each winning author will be presented with a plaque. An
announcement of each year’s prize recipient(s) will be included in the
ACM PODC or EATCS DISC proceedings of that year, describing the paper's
lasting contributions.

Nominations and Eligibility
Nominations may be made by any member of the scientific community. Each
nomination must identify the paper being nominated and include a few
paragraphs (at most one page) justifying the nomination. Nominations
might also be accompanied by additional support letters. Papers
appearing in any conference proceedings or journal are eligible, as long
as they have had a significant impact on research areas of interest
within the theory of distributed computing community, and as long as the
year of the original publication is at least ten years prior to the year
in which the award is given.

Papers authored or co-authored by members of the Prize Committee will
not be eligible for consideration. Please send your nomination to the
Chair of the Prize Committee, Fabian Kuhn (kuhn[AT]cs.uni-freiburg.de).
Please mind that the nominations deadline is April 30, 2014.

Selection Process
Although the Prize Committee is encouraged to consult with the
distributed computing community at large, the Prize Committee is solely
responsible for the selection of the winner of the prize. The prize may
be shared by more than one paper. All matters relating to the selection
process that are not specified here are left to the discretion of the
Prize Committee.

Prize Committee 2014
Lorenzo Alvisi, UT Austin, USA
Shlomi Dolev, Ben Gurion University, Israel
Rachid Guerraoui, EPFL, Switzerland
Idit Keidar, Technion, Israel
Fabian Kuhn, University of Freiburg, Germany
Shay Kutten, Technion, Israel


To unsubscribe from the PODC list:
write to: mailto:[log in to unmask]
or click the following link: