PODC Archives

ACM PODC Participants List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Sun, 5 Nov 2017 18:40:28 +0000
Suomela Jukka <[log in to unmask]>
ACM PODC Participants List <[log in to unmask]>
Suomela Jukka <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (127 lines)
PODC 2018
37th ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing
July 23-27, 2018, Royal Holloway, University of London, Egham, UK
Twitter: @podc_conference



Abstract submission: February 11, 2018
Paper submission: February 18, 2018
Acceptance notification: April 28, 2018
Camera ready copy due: May 18, 2018


The ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing is an international forum on the theory, design, analysis, implementation and application of distributed systems and networks. We solicit papers in all areas of distributed computing. Papers from all viewpoints, including theory, practice, and experimentation, are welcome. The common goal of the conference is to improve understanding of the principles underlying distributed computing. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

 - distributed algorithms: design, analysis, and complexity
 - communication networks: algorithms, protocols, applications
 - multiprocessor and multi-core architectures and algorithms
 - shared and transactional memory, concurrency, synchronization
 - fault-tolerance, reliability, self-organization, self-stabilization
 - codes and reliable communication
 - Internet applications, social networks, recommendation systems
 - dynamic, adaptive, and machine learning distributed algorithms
 - distributed operating systems, middleware, databases
 - game-theoretic approaches to distributed computing
 - peer-to-peer systems, overlay networks
 - high-performance, cluster, cloud, and grid computing
 - wireless networks, mobile computing, autonomous agents
 - blockchain protocols
 - security in distributed computing, cryptographic protocols
 - quantum and optics based distributed algorithms
 - nanonetworks and biological distributed algorithms
 - sensor, mesh, and ad hoc networks
 - system-on-chip and network-on-chip architectures
 - specification, semantics, verification of concurrent systems


Papers are to be submitted electronically, following the guidelines on the conference web page (www.podc.org). Submission must be in English, in pdf format, in single-column and at least 11-point font with reasonable margins. Each paper must begin with a cover page containing: (1) title, (2) author names and affiliations, (3) contact author's email, (4) abstract, (5) indication of whether the paper should be considered as a regular paper, a brief announcement, or both (requesting to be considered for both will not affect consideration of the paper for a regular presentation), and (6) indication of whether the paper is eligible for best student paper award; to be eligible, at least one of the authors must be a full-time student at the time of submission, and the student(s) must have made a significant contribution to the paper.

A regular paper submission must report on original research that has not been previously or concurrently published; concurrent submissions to journals or conferences are not permitted. A regular submission must not exceed 10 pages excluding cover page and references. All of the ideas necessary for an expert to verify the central claims in the paper should be included, some of which may be placed in a clearly marked appendix that will be read at the discretion of the program committee. (If desired, the authors can simply attach a copy of the full paper as an appendix.) However, the paper must be self-contained without the appendices.

A brief announcement submission must not exceed 3 pages excluding cover page and references. The material in brief announcements may be published in other conferences. The title of a brief announcement must begin with the words "Brief Announcement:".

Submissions not conforming to these rules and papers outside of the scope of the conference will be rejected without consideration.


Regular papers of up to 10 pages and brief announcements of up to 3 pages will be included in the conference proceedings. Extended and revised versions of selected papers will be considered for a special issue of the Distributed Computing journal. Two papers will be selected to be considered for publication in JACM.


Program Committee:

Dan Alistarh - IST, Austria
Leonid Barenboim - Open University, Israel
Joffroy Beauquier - Universite Paris-Sud, France
Anastasia Braginsky - Yahoo Research, Israel
Janna Burman - Universite Paris-Sud, France
Gregory Chockler - Royal Holloway University of London, UK
Swan Dubois - UPMC Sorbonne Universites, France
Michael Elkin - Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Yuval Emek - Technion, Israel
Ittay Eyal - Technion, Israel
Vijay Garg - UT Austin, USA
Rati Gelashvili - University of Toronto, Canada
Chryssis Georgiou - University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Mohsen Ghaffari - ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Wojciech Golab - University of Waterloo, Canada
Alexey Gotsman - IMDEA, Spain
Bernhard Haeupler - Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Magnus Halldorsson - Reykjavik University, Iceland
Prasad Jayanti - Dartmouth College, USA
Idit Keidar (Chair) - Technion, Israel
Eddie Kohler - Harvard, USA
Igor Konnov - TU Wien, Austria
Eric Koskinen - Stevens Institute, USA
Dariusz Kowalski - University of Liverpool, UK
Alexander Matveev - MIT, USA
Adam Morrison - Tel Aviv University, Israel
Achour Mostefaoui - Universite de Nantes, France
Rotem Oshman - Tel Aviv University, Israel
Roberto Palmieri - Lehigh University, USA
Merav Parter - Weizmann Institute, Israel
Boaz Patt-Shamir - Tel Aviv University, Israel
Maria Potop-Butucaru - UPMC Sorbonne Universites, France
Sergio Rajsbaum - UNAM, Mexico
Binoy Ravindran - Virginia Tech, USA
Peter Robinson - Royal Holloway University of London, UK
Nicola Santoro - Carleton University, Canada
Stefan Schmid - Aalborg University, Denmark
Ulrich Schmid - TU Wien, Austria
Michael Spear - Lehigh University, USA
Marko Vukolic - IBM Zurich, Switzerland
Haifeng Yu - National University of Singapore, Singapore

Conference Committee:

Gregory Chockler (Organizing chair) - Royal Holloway, University of London, United Kingdom
Idit Keidar (Program committee chair) - Technion, Israel
Calvin Newport (General chair) - Georgetown University, USA
Peter Robinson (Treasurer) - Royal Holloway, University of London, United Kingdom
Jukka Suomela (Communication chair) - Aalto University, Finland
Mark Tuttle (Publicity chair) - Amazon, USA

Steering Committee:

Nitin Vaidya, chair (2015-2018) - University of Illinois, USA
Lorenzo Alvisi (2017-2019) - Cornell University, USA
Idit Keidar (2017-2020) - Technion, Israel
Calvin Newport (2016-2018) - Georgetown University, USA
Andrzej Pelc (2015-2018) - Universite du Quebec en Outaouais, Canada
Peter Robinson (2017-2019) - Royal Holloway, UK
Alexander Schwarzmann (2016-2019) - University of Connecticut, USA