PODC Archives

ACM PODC Participants List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 8.2 \(2104\))
text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Sat, 2 Feb 2019 00:50:22 -0500
Faith Ellen <[log in to unmask]>
ACM PODC Participants List <[log in to unmask]>
Faith Ellen <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (79 lines)
  The 2019 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing


              Nomination deadline: March 30, 2019

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for
Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed
computing. His foundational work on concurrency primitives (such as semaphores),
concurrency problems (such as mutual exclusion and deadlock), finding shortest
paths in graphs, fault-tolerance, and self-stabilization
are important supports upon which the field of
distributed computing is built. No other individual has had a larger
influence on research in principles of distributed computing.

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of
distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory
and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least
a decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.

The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of
Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed
Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the
presentation taking place alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC.
In 2019, it will be presented at DISC 2019. 
The winners of the award will share the cash award, and each winning
author will be presented with a plaque. An announcement of each year's
prize recipient(s) will be included in the PODC and DISC proceedings
of that year, describing the paper's lasting contributions.

Nominations and Eligibility:

Nominations may be made by any member of the scientific
community. Each nomination must identify the paper being 
nominated and include a support letter justifying the 
nomination, as well as a one-paragraph summary. 
Papers appearing in any conference proceedings or journals
are eligible, as long as they have had a significant impact on
research areas of interest within the theory of distributed computing
community, and as long as the year of the original publication is at
least ten years prior to the year in which the award is given.

Papers authored or co-authored by members of the Award Committee will
not be eligible for consideration. Members of the Award Committee can
nominate papers. However, they must carefully consider
nominations from within the community. Members of the Award Committee
will be especially sensitive to conflict-of-interests issues if
papers by former students or close colleagues are nominated. (Members
of the Award Committee cannot nominate such papers themselves.)

Your nomination must be sent to the chair of the 2019 Award Committee,
Faith Ellen ([log in to unmask]). The nomination deadline
is March 30, 2019.

Selection Process:

Although the Award Committee is encouraged to consult with the
distributed computing community at large, the Award Committee is
solely responsible for the selection of the winner of the award. The
prize may be shared by more than one paper.  All matters relating to
the selection process that are not specified here are left to the
discretion of the Award Committee.

The list of past winners can be found at http://www.podc.org/dijkstra/
and http://www.disc-conference.org/wp/dijkstra-prize/

Award Committee for 2019:
Lorenzo Alvisi, Cornell University
Shlomi Dolev, Ben Gurion University
Faith Ellen (chair),  University of Toronto
Idit Keidar, Technion 
Fabian Kuhn, University of Freiburg
Jukka Suomela, Aalto University