PODC Archives

ACM PODC Participants List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
text/plain; charset=UTF-8
Tue, 28 Feb 2017 20:46:52 -0500
ACM PODC Participants List <[log in to unmask]>
"Alexander A. Schwarzmann" <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (92 lines)
  The 2017 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing


              Nominations deadline: March 15, 2017

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for
Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed
computing. His foundational work on concurrency, semaphores, mutual
exclusion, deadlock, finding shortest paths in graphs,
fault-tolerance, self-stabilization, among many other contributions
comprises one of the most important supports upon which the field of
distributed computing is built. No other individual has had a larger
influence on research in principles of distributed computing.

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of
distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory
and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least
a decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.

The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of
Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed
Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the
presentation taking place alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC. In
2017 it will be presented at DISC 2017 in Vienna, Austria. The
winners of the award will share the cash award, and each winning
author will be presented with a plaque. An announcement of each year's
prize recipient(s) will be included in the PODC and DISC proceedings
of that year, describing the paper's lasting contributions.

Nominations and Eligibility:

Nominations may be made by any member of the scientific
community. Each nomination must identify the paper(s) being nominated
and include a short paragraph (approximately 200 words) justifying the
nomination. Papers appearing in any conference proceedings or journals
are eligible, as long as they have had a significant impact on
research areas of interest within the theory of distributed computing
community, and as long as the year of the original publication is at
least ten years prior to the year in which the award is given.

Papers authored or co-authored by members of the Award Committee will
not be eligible for consideration. Members of the Award Committee can
nominate papers as well. However, they must carefully consider
nominations from within the community. Members of the Award Committee
will be especially sensitive to conflict-of-interests issues if
papers by former students or close colleagues are nominated (members
of the Award Committee cannot nominate such papers themselves).

Your nomination must be sent to the chair of the Award Committee of
this year, Alex Schwarzmann ([log in to unmask]). The nominations deadline
is March 15, 2017.

Selection Process:

Although the Award Committee is encouraged to consult with the
distributed computing community at large, the Award Committee is
solely responsible for the selection of the winner of the award. The
prize may be shared by more than one paper.  All matters relating to
the selection process that are not specified here are left to the
discretion of the Award Committee.

The list of past winners can be found
at http://www.podc.org/dijkstra/ or

Award Committee 2017:

Marcos K. Aguilera                VMware Research, USA
Alessandro Panconesi           University of Rome Sapienza, Italy
Andrzej Pelc                           Université du Québec en Outaouais, Canada
Andrea Richa                          Arizona State University, USA
Alex Schwarzmann, Chair      University of Connecticut, USA
Roger Wattenhofer                 ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Alexander A. Schwarzmann
Professor and Department Head
Computer Science and Engineering
371 Fairfield Way, Unit 4155
University of Connecticut
Storrs, CT 06268, USA
Tel. 1-860-486-2672
Email: [log in to unmask]