PODC Archives

ACM PODC Participants List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Yuval Emek <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Yuval Emek <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 21 Dec 2010 04:40:26 -0500
text/plain (141 lines)
PODC 2011 Call for Papers

Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC 2011)
June 6-8, 2011
San Jose, CA, USA
as part of the 5th Federated Computing Research Conference (FCRC)



Regular papers:
   Abstract registration: January 10, 2011
   Submission: January 17, 2011
   Notification: March 7, 2011
   Camera-ready: March 31, 2011

Brief announcements:
   Abstract registration: none
   Submission: March 14, 2011
   Notification: March 21, 2011
   Camera-ready: March 31, 2011


PODC solicits papers on all areas of distributed computing. Papers
from all viewpoints, including theory, practice, and experimentation,
are welcome. The common goal of the conference is to improve
understanding of the principles underlying distributed computing.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following subjects:

- distributed algorithms: design, analysis, and complexity
- communication networks: architectures, services, protocols, applications
- multiprocessor and multi-core architectures and algorithms
- shared and transactional memory, synchronization protocols, concurrent programming
- fault-tolerance, reliability, availability, self organization
- Internet applications, social networks, recommendation systems
- distributed operating systems, middleware platforms, databases
- game-theoretic approaches to distributed computing
- peer-to-peer systems, overlay networks, distributed data management
- high-performance, cluster, cloud and grid computing
- wireless networks, mobile computing, autonomous agents
- context-aware distributed systems
- security in distributed computing, cryptographic protocols
- sensor, mesh, and ad hoc networks
- specification, semantics, verification, and testing of distributed systems

Papers are to be submitted electronically, following the guidelines
available on the conference web page (www.podc.org/podc2011). Note
that abstracts of regular papers must be submitted one week before the
full papers; note also that the deadlines are firm.

A submission for a regular presentation must report original research.
Papers submitted for regular presentations must contain results that
have not previously appeared, and have not been concurrently submitted
to a journal or conference with published proceedings. Any partial
overlap with any such published or concurrently submitted paper must
be clearly indicated.

Papers for regular presentation include (1) a cover page, stating the
title of the paper, the authors' names and affiliations, an abstract,
and indication of whether the paper should be considered for the best
student paper award, and if so the name(s) of the student(s)
recommended for the award; (2) no more  than 12 single-column pages on
letter-size paper using at least 11-point font, including figures, but
excluding references; (3) one or more extra pages used for references
only. Additional details may be included in a clearly marked appendix,
which will be read at the discretion of the program committee.

A submission for a brief announcement must be no longer than 3
single-column pages on letter-size paper using at least 11-point font,
including title, authors' names and affiliations, and references. Such
submissions may describe work in progress or work presented elsewhere.
A submission that is not selected for regular presentation may be
invited for a brief announcement.

Regular papers and brief announcements will be included in the
conference proceedings. Regular papers receive up to 10 letter-size
pages, brief announcements receive up to 2 letter-size pages.


Every regular paper is eligible for the best paper award and the best
presentation award. Regular papers co-authored by full-time students
may also be eligible for the best student paper award---for a paper to
be considered, the nominated authors should be full time students at
the time of submission and they should be principally responsible for
the paper's contributions. The program committee may decline to make
these awards or may split them.


Program Committee

Yehuda Afek                     Tel-Aviv University, Israel
James Aspnes                  Yale University, USA
Petra Berenbrink                Simon Fraser University, Canada
Anat Bremler-Barr              IDC, Israel
Edith Cohen                      AT&T Research, USA
Michael Elkin                    Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Faith Ellen                        University of Toronto, Canada
Pierre Fraigniaud (chair)     CNRS and University Paris Diderot, France
Phillip Gibbons                  Intel Labs Pittsburgh, USA
Amos Korman                   CNRS and University Paris Diderot, France
Fabian Kuhn                     University of Lugano, Switzerland
Dahlia Malkhi                    Microsoft Research Silicon Valley, USA
Laurent Massoulie             Technicolor, France
Mark Moir                         Sun Labs at Oracle, USA
Yoram Moses                   Technion, Israel
Boaz Patt-Shamir              Tel Aviv University, Israel
David Peleg                       Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
Harald Raecke                   University of Warwick, UK
Michel Raynal                    IRISA, Universite de Rennes, France
Jared Saia                         University of New Mexico, USA
Nir Shavit                           Sun Labs at Oracle and Tel-Aviv University, Israel
Sam Toueg                        University of Toronto, Canada
Mark Tuttle                        Intel, USA

Conference Committee Chairs

Yuval Emek (publicity)        ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Seth Gilbert (publicity)        EPFL, Switzerland
Cyril Gavoille (general)        University of Bordeaux, France
Darek Kowalski (treasurer)  University of Liverpool, UK

Steering Committee

Lorenzo Alvisi                    University of Texas Austin, USA
Pierre Fraigniaud               CNRS and University Paris Diderot, France
Cyril Gavoille                     University of Bordeaux, France
Rachid Guerraoui               EPFL, Switzerland
Darek Kowalski                  University of Liverpool, UK
Andrzej Pelc (chair)            Universite du Quebec, Canada
Jennifer Welch                   Texas A&M University, USA