TEAM-ADA Archives

Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy (83 & 95)" <[log in to unmask]>
John McCormick <[log in to unmask]>
Thu, 20 Sep 2007 15:50:52 -0500
text/plain; charset="us-ascii"; format=flowed
"Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy (83 & 95)" <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (69 lines)
Dear Members of the Ada Community:

On Wednesday, 7 November 2007, the 2007 SIGAda Awards will be 
presented in a special morning plenary session at the SIGAda 2007 
conference in Fairfax, VA.  (See if you have somehow missed 
announcements of this year's annual SIGAda international conference.)

We welcome your nominations of deserving recipients.

The ACM SIGAda Awards recognize individuals and organizations who 
have made outstanding contributions to the Ada community and to 
SIGAda.  The two categories of awards are:

(1) Outstanding Ada Community Contribution Award
     -- For broad, lasting contributions to Ada technology & usage.

(2) ACM SIGAda Distinguished Service Award
     -- For exceptional contributions to SIGAda activities & products.

Please consider who should be nominated this year.  You may nominate 
a person for either or both awards, and as many people as you think 
worthy.  One or more awards will be made in both categories.

Please visit and 
peruse the names of past winners.  This may help you think about the 
measure of accomplishment that is appropriate.  You may be aware of 
people who have made substantial contributions that have not yet been 
acknowledged. Nominate them.  Consider what you believe to be the 
best developments in the Ada community or SIGAda in the last year; 
the last 5 years; since Ada's inception. Who was responsible?  Nominate them.

Please note that anyone who has received either of the two awards 
remains eligible for the other.  Perhaps there is an outstanding 
SIGAda volunteer who has won our Distinguished Service Award and who 
has also made important contributions to the advance of Ada 
technology, or visa versa.  Nominate him or her!

The nomination form is available on the SIGAda website at  (You need to 
visit this website to see past award winners' names, and also a 
picture of the statuette which is the award among other things, so 
you don't nominate someone who has already won an award in a 
category.)  Submit your nomination as an e-mail or e-mail attachment 
to [log in to unmask]

The ACM SIGAda Awards Committee, comprised of volunteers who have 
previously won an award, will determine this year's recipients from 
your nominations.

Call our attention to the people who are most deserving, by 
nominating them.  And please nominate by OCTOBER 15!

Your participation in the nominations process will help maintain the
prestige and honor of these awards.

Thank you,

John McCormick
Chair ACM SIGAda

John W. McCormick                [log in to unmask]
Computer Science Department
University of Northern Iowa        voice (319) 273-6056
Cedar Falls, IA 50614-0507       fax (319) 273-7123