TEAM-ADA Archives

Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy (83 & 95)" <[log in to unmask]>
John McCormick <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 30 Aug 2005 15:56:54 -0500
text/plain; charset="us-ascii"; format=flowed
John McCormick <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (67 lines)
Dear SIGAda Members,
      SIGAda Extended Executive Committee (EEC),
      SIGAda Working Groups,
      Past SIGAda Awards Recipients, and
      Members of the Ada Community:

On Wednesday, 16 November 2005, the 2005 SIGAda Awards will be presented in 
a special morning plenary session at the SIGAda 2005 conference in Atlanta, 
Georgia.  (See if you have 
somehow missed announcements of this year's annual SIGAda international 

We welcome your nominations of deserving recipients.

The ACM SIGAda Awards recognize individuals and organizations who have made 
outstanding contributions to the Ada community and to SIGAda.  The two 
categories of awards are:

(1) Outstanding Ada Community Contribution Award
     -- For broad, lasting contributions to Ada technology & usage.

(2) ACM SIGAda Distinguished Service Award
     -- For exceptional contributions to SIGAda activities & products.

Please consider who should be nominated this year.  You may nominate a 
person for either or both awards, and as many people as you think 
worthy.  One or more awards will be made in both categories.

Please visit 
and peruse the names of past winners.  This may help you think about the 
measure of accomplishment that is appropriate.  You may be aware of people 
who have made substantial contributions that have not yet been 
acknowledged. Nominate them.  Consider what you believe to be the best 
developments in the Ada community or SIGAda in the last year; the last 5 
years; since Ada's inception. Who was responsible?  Nominate them.

Please note that anyone who has received either of the two awards remains 
eligible for the other.  Perhaps there is an outstanding SIGAda volunteer 
who has won our Distinguished Service Award and who has also made important 
contributions to the advance of Ada technology, or visa versa.  Nominate 
him or her!

The nomination form is available on the SIGAda website at  (You need to visit this 
website to see past award winners' names, and also a picture of the 
statuette which is the award among other things, so you don't nominate 
someone who has already won an award in a category.)  Submit your 
nomination as an e-mail attachment to [log in to unmask]  You may also 
submit nominations on-line at:

The ACM SIGAda Awards Committee, comprised of volunteers who have 
previously won an award, will determine this year's recipients from your 

Call our attention to the people who are most deserving, by nominating 
them.  And please nominate by OCTOBER 15!

Your participation in the nominations process will help maintain the
prestige and honor of these awards.

Thank you,

John McCormick
Chair ACM SIGAda