ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Classic View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Sender: "ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)" <[log in to unmask]>
Date: Wed, 16 Sep 2009 17:46:00 +0200
Reply-To: karin anna hummel <[log in to unmask]>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-15; format=flowed
From: karin anna hummel <[log in to unmask]>
Parts/Attachments: text/plain (165 lines)
[Apologies if you receive multiple copies of this CfP]

*                           Call for Papers
*                            e-Energy 2010
*    1st Int'l Conf. on Energy-Efficient Computing and Networking
*                     In cooperation with ACM SIGCOMM
*                    University of Passau, Germany
*                          April 13-15, 2010
*            Full paper submissions due: October 30, 2009

* General Co-Chairs:
Randy Katz, UC Berkeley (USA)
David Hutchison, Lancaster University (UK)

* TPC Co-Chairs:
Hermann de Meer, Passau University (Germany)
Suresh Singh, Portland State University (USA)
Torsten Braun, Bern University (Switzerland)

* Publicity Chair:
Karin Anna Hummel, University of Vienna (Austria)

* Overview:
e-Energy 2010 is the first international conference on energy-efficient
computing and networking. Due to the increasing significance of power
consumption, the goal of e-Energy is to bring together researchers,
developers, practitioners working in this area to discuss recent and
innovative results, and identify future directions and challenges.
The spreading of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) has
contributed much to the reduction of energy consumption in many areas of
everyday life. Nevertheless ICT has to move ahead and be more
energy-efficient itself. e-Energy addresses the entire IT-world.
The conference addresses the fields of servers and communication
infrastructures, services in data centers, end-systems in home and
office environments, sensor networks, and future networks such as
the Future Internet.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Instrumentation and measurement of energy-efficient computing and
- Energy and performance profiling, accounting of energy consumption
- Metrics, benchmarks, interfaces, tools
- Monitoring and management concepts
- Energy, performance, quality of service and other resource tradeoffs
- Energy-efficient networking and protocols
- Energy-efficient peer-to-peer networking and overlays
- Future energy-efficient architectures
- Energy-efficient application design
- Load, heat, and resource modeling
- Load, heat, and resource management
- Reliability and power management
- Energy-efficient grid, cloud, and data-center technology
- Energy-efficiency and virtualization
- Energy-efficiency, resource sharing and security
- SmartGrids: new computing and networking contributions
- Sensing techniques and sensor networks for energy awareness
- Energy-efficient network components (switches, routers etc.)
- Design methodologies and tools for energy-efficient services
- Security challenges in energy-efficient computing and

* Tentative Schedule:
Full paper due: October 30, 2009, 11:59PM CET
Notification of acceptance: December 21, 2009
Final version due: January 15, 2010

* Publication:
e-Energy invites submission of full papers, no longer than 10
pages and visionary papers with at most 4 pages that present
original research results that have not been previously published
or are currently under review by another conference or journal.
Submissions must be in PDF-format using the double-column ACM format.
Proceedings will be published by ACM and appear in the ACM digital

* TPC (tentative list):
David Andersen, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh (USA)
Georgios Andreadis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Greece)
Lachlan Andrew, Swinburne University (Australia)
David Bateman, Electricite de France (EDF), Paris (France)
Georg Carle, TU Muenchen (Germany)
Trishul Chilimbi, Microsoft Research, Redmond (USA)
Ken Christensen, University of South Florida (USA)
Marco Di Girolamo, HP - European Innovation Centre (Italy)
Christophe Diot, Thomson Technology Paris Laboratory (France)
Ron Doyle, IBM Research Triangle Park (USA)
Dominique Dudkowski, NEC Laboratories Europe, Heidelberg (Germany)
Carla Ellis, Duke University, Durham (USA)
Babak Falsafi, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh (USA)
Serge Fdida, University Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris (France)
Erol Gelenbe, Imperial College London (UK)
Benjamin Greenstein, Intel Research Seattle (USA)
Rajesh Gupta, University of California, San Diego (USA)
Mark Handley, University College London (UK)
Kerry Hinton, University of Melbourne (Australia)
Helmut Hlavacs, University of Vienna (Austria)
Canturk Isci, IBM TJ Watson Research Center (USA)
Hiroshi Ishikawa, Nat. Inst. of Adv. Industrial Science and
Technology (AIST) (Japan)
Aman Kansal, Microsoft Research, Redmond (USA)
Ryutaro Kawamura, Nat. Inst. of Inform. and Comm. Technology /
NTT Labs (Japan)
Lukas Kencl, Ericsson Research and Development Centre, Prague
(Czech Republic)
JongWon Kim, Gwangju Institute of Science an Technology (GIST)
(Republic of Korea)
Gabriele Kotsis, Johannes Kepler University of Linz (Austria)
Paul Kuehn, Stuttgart University (Germany)
Jean-Yves Leboudec, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
(EPFL) (Switzerland)
Laurent Lefevre, INRIA, University of Lyon (France)
Priya Mahadevan, HP Labs, Palo Alto (USA)
Jukka Manner, Helsinki University of Technology (Finland)
Marco Ajmone Marsan, Politecnico di Torino (Italy)
Avi Mendelson, Microsoft R&D Israel (Israel)
Pierre Michaud, IRISA, Rennes (France)
Archan Misra, Telcordia, New Jersey (USA)
Nicolas Montavont, Telecom Bretagne (France)
John Morrison, University College Cork (Ireland)
Paul Mueller, TU Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Hiroshi Nakamura, University of Tokyo (Japan)
Bruce Nordman, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (USA)
Yoram Ofek, University of Trento (Italy)
Joerg Ott, Helsinki University of Technology (Finland)
Manish Parashar, Rutgers University, Newark (USA)
Jean-Marc  Pierson, IRIT, University Paul Sabatier, Toulouse (France)
Bernhard Plattner, ETH Zuerich (Switzerland)
David Remondo, Barcelona Tech - Technical University of Catalonia
Andrew Rice, University of Cambridge (UK)
Suzanne Rivoire, Sonoma State University (USA)
Eliot Salant, IBM Haifa Research Labs (Israel)
Yiannakis Sazeides, University of Cyprus (Cyprus)
Henning Schulzrinne, Columbia University (USA)
Fernando Solano, Warsaw University of Technology (Poland)
James P.G. Sterbenz, University of Kansas (USA)
John Strassner, Waterford Institute of Technology (Ireland)
Domenico Talia, University of Calabria (Italy)
Gabor Terstyanszky, University of Westminster (UK)
Phuoc Tran-Gia, Würzburg University (Germany)
Anh Tuan Trinh, Budapest University of Technology and
Economics (Hungary)
Rod Tucker, University of Melbourne (Australia)
Thomas Wenisch, University of Michigan (USA)
Joerg Widmer, DoCoMo Euro-Labs, Munich (Germany)
James Won-Ki Hong, Pohang University of Science and Technology
(POSTECH) (South Korea)
Martina Zitterbart, Karlsruhe University (TH) (Germany)
Albert Zomaya, University of Sydney (Australia)
Moshe Zukerman, Chinese University of Hong Kong (China)

                To unsubscribe, send an empty email to
     mailto:[log in to unmask]
    For further details of CHI lists see