ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Tom Phelps <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Tom Phelps <[log in to unmask]>
Thu, 14 Mar 2002 18:37:23 -0800
text/plain (153 lines)
                            Call for Papers
                Symposium on Document Engineering 2002
                   McLean, VA (near Washington, DC)
                          November 8-9, 2002

                     held in conjunction with the
   11th Intl Conf on Information and Knowledge Management (CIKM '02)
        Sponsored by ACM SIGIR and ACM SIGMIS (pending approval)

The Symposium on Document Engineering (DocEng '02) is an academic
conference devoted to the dissemination of research on document
engineering.  DocEng '02, the second annual meeting, seeks high-quality,
original papers and panels that address the theory, design, development,
and evaluation of computer systems that support the creation, analysis,
or distribution of documents in any medium.

We, the organizers of DocEng '02, hold to an expansive notion of
documents.  A document is a representation of information designed for
reading by, or played-back to, a person.  It may be presented on paper,
on a screen, or played through a speaker and its underlying
representation may be in any form and include data from any medium.  A
document may be stored in final presentation form or it may be generated
on-the-fly, undergoing substantial transformations in the process.  A
document may include extensive hyperlinks and be part of a large web of
information.  Furthermore, apparently independent documents may be
composed, so that a web of information may itself be considered a document.

Conceptual topics and technologies relevant to the symposium include
(but are not limited to):

Document standards, models, representation languages
Document authoring tools and systems
Document presentation (typography, formatting, layout)
Document synchronization and temporal aspects
Document structure and content analysis
Document categorization and classification
Document internationalization
Integrating documents with other digital artifacts
Document engineering life cycle and processes
Document workflow and cooperation
Document engineering in the large
Document storage, indexing, and retrieval
Automatically generated documents
Adaptive documents
Performance of document systems
Markup languages (SGML, XML)
Style sheet systems and languages (CSS, XSL, DSSSL)
Structured multimedia (MPEG-4, SMIL, MHEG, HyTime)
Metadata (MPEG-7, RDF)
Document database systems and XQL
Optical character recognition
Type representations (Adobe Type 1, Truetype)
Page description languages (PostScript, PDF)
Electronic books (E-book) and digital paper
Applications of constraint systems for document engineering
Document transformation (XSLT)
Document services on wireless networks (WAP)
Document linking standards (XLink, XPath, XPointer)
Document APIs (SAX, DOM)

Important dates

Abstracts due:        May 24, 2002
Full papers due:      May 31, 2002
Acceptance notice by: July 26, 2002
Revised versions:     August 30, 2002

Organizing committee

Ethan V. Munson (General Chair)     University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
[log in to unmask]
Richard Furuta (Program Chair)      Texas A&M
[log in to unmask]
Jonathan I. Maletic (Program Chair) Kent State University
[log in to unmask]
Tom Phelps (Publicity chair)        University of California Berkeley
[log in to unmask]

Submission information

Authors are invited to submit original, unpublished research papers that
are not being considered in another forum.  Submissions must be full
papers, not extended abstracts.  They should be no longer than ten (10)
pages including figures, tables, and references, formatted for 8.5 by 11
or A4 paper using a font size between 10 and 12 points and reasonable
margins (1 inch or 2.5 cm on all sides).  Electronic submission of
manuscripts (details at is required unless
impossible (PDF strongly preferred, Postscript and ASCII accepted).
Submissions should include the paper title, abstract of 100-250 words,
names of authors, their affiliation, email address, and postal address.
  In addition, the author responsible for correspondence should include
his/her telephone number and complete email address.  For papers
accepted for publication in the proceedings, at least one author will be
required to attend the symposium and present the work.  Final, camera
ready, versions of the papers will be limited to 8 pages in ACM
two-column format.

Panel organizers are invited to submit panel proposals.  A panel should
bring together a variety of expert voices on a topic of considerable
interest.  The topic may be interesting because it is controversial,
because it is of great importance to society or to the field, or because
it leads us to think about future directions for document engineering.
A panel proposal may be up to three pages in length.  It should describe
the topic of the panel and why it will be interesting to the symposium's
participants.  It should also list the panelists, briefly describing
their expertise and should note whether any panelist's participation is
tentative.  (Note: panelists are expected to register for the symposium.)

Program Committee

Stephen Arnold, Chiron Corporation, USA
David Brailsford, University of Nottingham, UK
Anne Brüeggemann-Klein, Technische Universität München, Germany
Les Carr, University of Southampton, UK
Jon Herlocker, Oregon State University, USA
Roger Hersch, Swiss Federal Technical Institute, Lausanne
Rolf Ingold, University of Fribourg, Switzerland
Peter King, University of Manitoba, Canada
Eila Kuikka, University of Kuopio, Finland
Hakon Lie, Opera Software, Norway
Robert Morris, University of Massachusetts-Boston, USA
Jocelyne Nanard, Universite de Montpellier, France
Charles Nicholas, University of Maryland Baltimore County, USA
Francois Paradis, CSIRO, Australia
Tom Phelps, University of California Berkeley, USA
Maria da Graca Pimentel, Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil
B. Prabhakaran, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Steve Probets, Loughborough University, UK
Samuel Rebelsky, Grinnell College, USA
Cecile Roisin, Universite Pierre Mendes and INRIA, France
Lloyd Rutledge, CWI, Netherlands
Greg Shreve, Kent State University
Luiz Fernando Gomes Soares, Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
C. M. Sperberg-McQueen, W3C, USA
George Thiruvathukal, Loyola University, USA
Christine Vanoirbeek, Swiss Federal Technical Institute, Lausanne
Michalis Vazirgiannis, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece
Anne-Marie Vercoustre, CSIRO, Australia
Derick Wood, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

Steering Committee

Anne Brüeggemann-Klein, Technische Universität München, Germany
Rolf Ingold, University of Fribourg, Switzerland
Peter King, University of Manitoba, Canada
Ethan Munson, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
Charles Nicholas, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, USA
Cecile Roisin, Universite Pierre Mendes and INRIA, France
Christine Vanoirbeek, Swiss Federal Technical Institute, Lausanne