ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Classic View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Victor Kaptelinin <[log in to unmask]>
Mon, 28 Jan 2002 12:42:47 +0100
text/plain (141 lines)
ECCE 11 - Cognition, Culture and Design
Eleventh European Conference on Cognitive Ergonomics
Catania, Italy. 8-11 September 2002

Organised by the European Association for Cognitive Ergonomics (EACE) -


The main theme of ECCE-11 is Cognition, Culture and Design. Contributions
that explore cognitive and cultural aspects of design activity and
technology use are encouraged. Submissions can address theoretical,
empirical or methodological aspects of this theme, and can take the form of,
e.g., papers, posters and panels.

Submissions could, for example, relate to the design and use of technology
in the following contexts: work, leisure, home, business (including
E-business), education, safety-related and complex work systems.

The working language of the conference will be English.


- Please submit a proposal in the form of an extended abstract (maximum four
A4 pages) describing your topic, objective, and presentation format (paper,
poster, panel).
- Submissions may be in portable document format (pdf) or Word documents
- Proposals must be sent as an email attachment to:
[log in to unmask]
- Proposal submissions must clearly show the name, postal address, email
address, and fax number of the contact author.
- The working language of the proposal will be English.
- All submissions will be refereed by the International Programme Committee.


After acceptance by the Programme Committee, the final paper is required in
an electronic version according to the file templates provided by the
publisher. Accepted papers will appear in the conference Proceedings that
will be distributed at the conference. Extended and revised versions of the
best papers accepted for the Conference will be peer-reviewed and published
in the international journal Cognition, Technology and Work (CTW) published
by Springer Verlag.


Abstract submissions                10 February 2002

Notification to authors             31 March 2002

Accepted Paper submissions          9 June 2002

ECCE 11                             8-11 September 2002

Best papers notification            13 September 2002


ECCE-11 will be co-located and coordinated with SAFECOMP 2002 (10-13
September) - The Technical Subcommittee 7 (Reliability, Safety, and
Security) of the European Workshop on Industrial Computer Systems, EWICS TC7
established SAFECOMP in 1979. SAFECOMP is an annual 2.5-day event reviewing
the state of the art, experience and new trends in the areas of computer
safety, reliability and security regarding dependable applications of
computer systems. SAFECOMP 2002 focuses on safety-critical computer
applications and is a platform for knowledge and technology transfer between
academia, industry and research institutions.


Catania is situated at the centre of the Ionian coast in eastern Sicily and
extends from the sea to the foothills of Etna, Europe's highest active
volcano. Catania has historically been a region of many cultures,
represented by different architectural styles (e.g., baroque) and monuments
(e.g., the Greek-Roman Theatre). Due to its geographical position and
history Catania represents a Mediterranean portal to Europe. In recent years
the south of the city has become a centre of industrial development. New
information and communication technologies are now flourishing in the
Catania region, now called "Etna Valley" technological zone.


The Catania Sheraton Hotel is an elegant resort located on the Cyclops
Coast, just 2 miles from the centre of Catania, and is located directly
across the street from the beach. Sheraton Catania Hotel has built an
excellent reputation for providing a beautiful and relaxing place to stay.
Additional Hotels and B&Bs are available near to the Conference Venue and
more information will be available in the web site


Technical Chair
Erik Hollnagel

Conference Chairs
Sebastiano Bagnara
Peter Wright

International Organising Committee
Stuart Anderson
Liam Bannon
Jose Canas
Massimo Felici
Vincent Grosjean
Victor Kaptelinin
Antonio Rizzo
Clive Warren

International Programme Committee
Amalberti, Rene
Benyon, David
Boy, Guy
Cacciabue, Carlo
Darses, Francoise
Decortis, Francoise
Dekker, Sidney
Detienne, Francoise
Gadomski, Adam M.
Gerbino, Walter
Helander, Martin
Hoc, Jean-Michel
Marmaras, Nicolas
Marti, Patrizia
McCarthy, John
Norros, Lena
Oppermann, Reinhard
Parlangeli, Oronzo
Pavard, Bernard
Rogalski, Janine
Sujan, Mark-Alexander
van der Veer, Gerrit