ACM SIGCHI General Interest Announcements (Mailing List)


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
CSCW 2012 Publicity Chairs <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Tue, 29 Mar 2011 14:19:19 -0700
text/plain (208 lines)
The ACM Conference on Computer Supported Cooperative Work and Social 
Media is a premier venue for presenting research in the design and use 
of technologies that affect groups, organizations, and communities. CSCW 
encompasses both the technical and social challenges encountered when 
supporting collaboration. The development and application of new 
technologies continues to enable new ways of working together and 
coordinating activities. Although work is an area of focus, CSCW 
embraces research and technologies supporting a wide range of 
recreational and social activities using a diverse range of devices. The 
conference brings together top researchers and practitioners from 
academia and industry who are interested in both technical and social 
aspects of collaboration.

CSCW 2012 will be held February 11-15, 2012, in Seattle, Washington, 
USA. The deadline for Papers & Notes submission is June 3; titles and 
abstracts of Papers & Notes must be submitted by May 27.

The early submission date of June 3 reflects a new review process, 
wherein authors of promising submissions will be given a month to revise 
their 10-page Papers and/or 4-page Notes to address concerns raised by 
reviewers and increase their potential for achieving the level of clear 
contribution required for a CSCW Paper or Note. We have instituted this 
process to promote greater diversity while maintaining the high level of 
quality expected of CSCW Papers and Notes. Only complete submissions 
will be reviewed, and not all submissions will be eligible for revision, 
but we hope that the opportunity for revision in some cases may help 
prospective authors from outside the traditional CSCW community to 
structure the presentation of their work in a format that is better 
aligned with CSCW standards.

The complete Call for Participation, including information about 
Workshops, CSCW Horizon, Demonstrations, Panels, Posters, Videos, the 
Doctoral Colloquium, and Student Volunteers - as well as Papers and 
Notes - can be found at <>. You can also 
follow announcements about the conference on Twitter, @ACM_CSCW2012 
<>, and/or "like" us on Facebook, <>

We look forward to your participation!

*The CSCW 2012 Committee

*Conference Co-chairs
*Steve Poltrock
Carla Simone, /University of Milano-Bicocca/

*Stephen Hayne, /Colorado State University/

*Papers & Notes Co-chairs
*John Riedl, /University of Minnesota/
Gloria Mark, /University of California, Irvine/
Jonathan Grudin, /Microsoft Research/

*Panels Co-chairs
*Myriam Lewkowicz, /University of Technology of Troyes/
Michael Twidale, /University of Illinois /

*Videos Co-chairs
*Pernille Bjorn, /IT University of Copenhagen/
Matthew Bietz, /University of Washington /

*CSCW Horizon Co-chairs
*Gilly Leshed, /Cornell University/
Monica Divitini, /Norwegian University of Science and Technology /

*Workshops Co-chairs
*Darren Gergle, /Northwestern University/
M. Antonietta Grasso, /Xerox Research Centre Europe /

*Posters Co-chairs
*Cecilia Aragon, /University of Washington/
Hilda Tellioglu, /Vienna University of Technology /

*Demonstrations Co-chairs
*Danyel Fisher, /Microsoft Research/
Luigina Ciolfi, /University of Limerick /

*Doctoral Colloquium Co-chairs
*Leysia Palen, /University of Colorado/
Geraldine Fitzpatrick, /Vienna University of Technology /

*Madness Co-chairs
*Sadat Shami, /IBM Research/
Jeff Nichols, /IBM Research /

*Publications Co-chairs
*Taemie Kim, /MIT Media Lab/
Wendy Ju, /California College of Arts /and/Stanford University /

*Proceedings Co-chairs
*Stacey Scott, /University of Waterloo/
Gina Venolia, /Microsoft Research /

*Publicity Co-chairs
*Hideaki Kuzuoka, /University of Tsukuba/
Volker Wulf, /University of Siegen/ and /Fraunhofer FIT/
Bin Hu, /Lanzhou University/ and /Birmingham City University/
Joe McCarthy, /University of Washington, Tacoma /

*Industry Liaison Co-chairs
*Pamela Hinds, /Stanford University/
John Tang, /Microsoft Research/
Jeremy Birnholtz, /Cornell University /

*A/V Computing Co-chairs
*Brian Meyers, /Microsoft/
Steve Abrams, /University of California, Irvine /

*Webmasters and Graphic Design Co-chairs
*Victoria Schwanda, /Cornell University/
Dan Cosley, /Cornell University /

*Social Interaction Co-chairs
*Sean Goggins, /Drexel University/
Elizabeth Churchill, /Yahoo!/

*Student Volunteers Co-chairs
*Norman Makoto Su, /University College Dublin/
Alex Thayer, University of Washington

*Local Arrangements Co-chairs
*Mark Handel, /Boeing Research & Technology/
Charlotte Lee, /University of Washington /

*Associate Chairs
*Mark Ackerman, /University of Michigan/
Daniel Avrahami, /Intel Research/
Jakob Bardram,/IT University of Copenhagen/
Jeffrey Bardzell, /Indiana University/
Shaowen Bardzell, /Indiana University/
Tora Bikson, /Rand Corporation/
Jeanette Blomberg, /IBM Research/
Geoff Bowker, /University of Pittsburgh/
Barry Brown, /University of California, San Diego/
Amy Bruckman, /Georgia Institute of Technology/
Sheelagh Carpendale, /University of Calgary/
Ed Chi, /Google/
Luigina Ciolfi, /University of Limerick/
Noshir Contractor, /Northwestern University/
Gregorio Convertino, /PARC/
Dan Cosley, /Cornell University/
Scott Counts, /Microsoft Research/
Ed Cutrell, /Microsoft Research/
Giorgio De Michelis, /University of Milan/
Alan Dennis, /Indiana University/
Nicolas Ducheneaut, /PARC/
Tom Finholt, /University of Michigan/
Danyel Fisher, /Microsoft Research/
Andrea Forte, /Drexel University/
Darren Gergle, /Northwestern University/
Carl Gutwin, /University of Saskatchewan/
Jeff Hancock, /Cornell University/
Tomoo Inoue, /University of Tsukuba/
Steve Jackson, /University of Michigan/
Wendy Ju, /California College of the Arts/
Jofish Kaye, /Nokia
/John King/, University of Michigan
/ Michael Koch, /Bundeswehr University Munich/
Bob Kraut, /Carnegie Mellon University/
Kari Kuutti, /University of Oulo/
Hideaki Kuzuoka, /University of Tsukuba/
Cliff Lampe, /Michigan State University
/Charlotte Lee/, University of Washington
/ Elizabeth Lawley, /Rochester Institute of Technology/
Catherine C. Marshall, /Microsoft Research/
Joe McCarthy, /University of Washington, Tacoma/
David McDonald, /University of Washington/
Hideyuki Nakanishi, /Osaka University/
Bonnie Nardi, /University of California, Irvine/
Les Nelson, /PARC/
Christine Neuwirth, /Carnegie Mellon University/
Jeff Nichols, /IBM Research/
Sergio Ochoa, /University of Chile/
Gary Olson, /University of California, Irvine/
Judy Olson, /University of California, Irvine/
Leysia Palen, /University of Colorado/
Volkmar Pipek, /University of Kaiserslautern/
Dave Randall, /Manchester Metropolitan University/
Madhu Reddy, /The Pennsylvania State University/
Frank Shipman, /Texas A&M University/
Chengzheng Sun, /Nanyang Technical University
/Stephanie Teasley/, University of Michigan
/ Hilda Tellioglu, /Vienna University of Technology/
Loren Terveen, /University of Minnesota/
John Thomas, /IBM Research/
Michael Twidale, /University of Illinois/
Doug Vogel, /City University of Hong Kong/
Volker Wulf, /University of Siegen/
Naomi Yamashita, /NTT/
Chen Zhao, /Microsoft Research/

*The 2012 ACM Conference on Computer Supported Cooperative Work and 
Social Media*
11-15 February 2012
Seattle, Washington, USA
/Twitter/: @ACM_CSCW2012 <>

                To unsubscribe, send an empty email to
     mailto:[log in to unmask]
    For further details of CHI lists see