ACM SIGMM Interest List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Proportional Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"Prof. Dr. Rainer Lienhart" <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Prof. Dr. Rainer Lienhart
Fri, 7 Apr 2017 08:42:21 +0200
text/plain (4 kB) , text/html (32 kB)

Call for Nominations

for the

SIGMM Technical Achievement Award

for Outstanding Technical Contributions to Multimedia Computing,
Communications and Applications


This award is presented every year to a researcher who has made significant
and lasting contributions to multimedia computing, communication and
applications. Outstanding technical contributions through research and
practice are recognized. Towards this goal, contributions are considered
from academia and industry that focus on major advances in multimedia
including multimedia processing, multimedia content analysis, multimedia
systems, multimedia network protocols and services, and multimedia
applications and interfaces. The award recognizes members of the community
for long-term technical accomplishments or those who have made a notable
impact through a significant technical innovation. The selection committee
focuses on candidates' contributions as judged by innovative ideas,
influence in the community, and/or the technical/social impact resulting
from their work. The award includes a $2000 honorarium , an award
certificate of recognition, and an invitation for the recipient to present a
keynote talk at a current year's SIGMM-sponsored conference, the ACM
International Conference on Multimedia (ACM Multimedia). Travel expenses to
the conference will be covered by SIGMM, and a public citation for the award
will be placed on the SIGMM website.


The award honorarium, the award certificate of recognition and travel
expenses to the ACM International Conference on Multimedia is fully
sponsored by the SIGMM budget.


Nominations are solicited by May 31, 2017 with a decision made by June 30
2017, in time to allow the above recognition and award presentation at ACM
Multimedia 2017.
Nominations for the award must include:

*	A statement summarizing the candidate's accomplishments, description
of the significance of the work and justification of the nomination (two
pages maximum);
*	Curriculum Vitae of the nominee;
*	Three endorsement letters supporting the nomination including the
significant contributions of the candidate. Each endorsement should be no
longer than 500 words with clear specification of the nominee's
contributions and impact on the multimedia field;
*	 A concise statement (one sentence) of the achievement(s) for which
the award is being given. This statement will appear on the award
certificate and on the website.

The nomination rules are: The nominee can be any member of the scientific

*	The nominator must be a SIGMM member.
*	No self-nomination is allowed.
*	Nominations that do not result in an award will be valid for two
further years. After three years a revised nomination can be resubmitted.
*	The SIGMM elected officers as well as members of the Awards
Selection Committee are not eligible.

Please submit your nomination to the award committee by email.


Alberto del Bimbo ( <mailto:[log in to unmask]>
[log in to unmask])

Klara Nahrstedt ([log in to unmask] <mailto:[log in to unmask]> )

Tat-Seng Chua ([log in to unmask] <mailto:[log in to unmask]> )

.       Nicu Sebe (  <mailto:[log in to unmask]> [log in to unmask] )

.       Rainer Lienhart (
<mailto:[log in to unmask]>
[log in to unmask])

.       Shih-Fu Chang (  <mailto:[log in to unmask]>
[log in to unmask] )


2016: Alberto del Bimbo (for outstanding, pioneering and continued research
contributions in the areas of multimedia processing, multimedia content
analysis, and multimedia applications, his leadership in multimedia
education, and his outstanding and continued service to the community)

2015: Tat-Seng Chua (for pioneering contributions to multimedia, text and
social media processing)

2014: Klara Nahrstedt (for pioneering contributions in Quality of Service
for MM systems and networking and for visionary leadership of the MM

.       2013: Dick Bulterman (for outstanding technical contributions in
multimedia authoring through research, standardization, and

.       2012:
Hong-Jiang Zhang (for pioneering contributions to and leadership in media
computing including content-based media analysis and retrieval, and their

.       2011:  <> Shi-Fu Chang (for
pioneering research and inspiring contributions in multimedia analysis and

.       2010:  <> Ramesh Jain (for pioneering
research and inspiring leadership that transformed multimedia information
processing to enhance the quality of life and visionary leadership of the
multimedia community).

.       2009:  <> Lawrence A. Rowe (for
pioneering research in continuous media software systems and visionary
leadership of the multimedia research community).

.       2008:
<> Ralf
Steinmetz (for pioneering work in multimedia communications and the
fundamentals of multimedia synchronization).