PODC Archives

ACM PODC Participants List


Options: Use Classic View

Use Proportional Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Fabien Dufoulon <[log in to unmask]>
Fri, 10 Mar 2023 23:37:08 -0600
text/plain (4 kB) , text/html (6 kB)
* The 2023 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing*


*Nomination deadline*: March 15th, 2023

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for Edsger
Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed computing. His
seminal works on concurrency primitives (such as semaphores), concurrency
problems (such as mutual exclusion and deadlock), finding shortest paths in
graphs, fault-tolerance, and self-stabilization are important foundations
which the field of distributed computing is built.

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of distributed
computing, whose significance and impact on the theory and/or practice of
distributed computing has been evident for at least a decade. The Prize
includes an award of $2000.

The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of
Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed
(DISC). This award is presented annually, with the presentation taking
alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC. In 2023, it will be presented at
The winners of the award will share the cash award, and each winning author
will be presented with a plaque. An announcement of each year's prize
recipient(s) will be included in the PODC and DISC proceedings of that
describing the paper's lasting contributions.

* Nominations and Eligibility:*

Nominations by any member of the scientific community are eligible, as long
the nominated work has had a significant impact on research areas of
within the theory of distributed computing community, and as long as the
of the original publication is at least ten years prior to the year in
the award is given.

Papers authored or co-authored by members of the Award Committee will not
eligible for consideration. Members of the Award Committee can nominate
However, they must carefully consider nominations from within the
Members of the Award Committee will be especially sensitive to
conflict-of-interests issues if papers by former students or close
are nominated. (Members of the Award Committee cannot nominate such papers
themselves.) Self-nominations are not allowed.

The nomination must include a short paragraph (approximately 200 words)
summarizing the contribution of the nominated work. The nomination may
additional material, for example, support letters, but its total length
not exceed six pages.

Nominations must be sent to the chair of the 2023 Award Committee,
Magnus M. Halldorsson ([log in to unmask]). The nomination deadline is March 15th,

* Selection Process:*

Although the Award Committee is encouraged to consult with the distributed
computing community at large, the Award Committee is solely responsible for
selection of the winner of the award. The prize may be shared by more than
paper. All matters relating to the selection process that are not specified
here are left to the discretion of the Award Committee.

The list of past winners can be found at http://www.podc.org/dijkstra/ and

*Award Committee for 2023:*

Yehuda Afek, Tel-Aviv University
Magnus M. Halldorsson, Reykjavik University (chair)
Idit Keidar, Technion
Rotem Oshman, Tel-Aviv University
Ulrich Schmid, TU Wien
Gadi Taubenfeld, Reichman University



[log in to unmask]

If you don't already have a password for the LISTSERV.ACM.ORG server, we recommend
that you create one now. A LISTSERV password is linked to your email
address and can be used to access the web interface and all the lists to
which you are subscribed on the LISTSERV.ACM.ORG server.

To create a password, visit:


Once you have created a password, you can log in and view or change your
subscription settings at: