PODC Archives

ACM PODC Participants List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Magnús Halldórsson <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Magnús Halldórsson <[log in to unmask]>
Fri, 25 Aug 2023 09:30:19 +0000
text/plain (4089 bytes) , text/html (9 kB)
Nominations are requested for the *Prize for Innovation in Distributed
Computing*, awarded by the Colloquium on Structural Information and
Communication Complexity <http://sirocco.hiit.fi/> (SIROCCO).

This prize was established to recognize individuals whose research
contributions expanded the collective investigative horizon in SIROCCO
<http://sirocco.hiit.fi/>’s area of interest. That is, they formulated new
problems, or identified new research areas, that were at the time of their
introduction, unorthodox and outside the mainstream, but later attracted
the interest of the SIROCCO community.

This community is interested in the relationships between information and
efficiency in decentralized computing. The prize recognizes originality,
innovation, and creativity – the qualities that reflect the spirit of the
SIROCCO conference.

The winner of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2024 is
expected to give an invited talk at SIROCCO 2024.

Past prize winners are Nicola Santoro, Jean-Claude Bermond, David Peleg,
Roger Wattenhofer, Andrzej Pelc, Pierre Fraigniaud, Michel Raynal, Masafumi
Yamashita, Shmuel Zaks, Zvi Lotker, Paola Flocchini, Amos Korman, Friedhelm
Meyer auf der Heide, and Christian Scheideler, and Boaz Patt-Shamir.

The prize may not necessarily be awarded every year.

Deadline for nominations: *September 30, 2023.*


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible for the
prize. It is requested that a nomination letter explains and demonstrates
how the nominee matches these conditions.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the nominee(s)
for the first time in a publication at least five years before the
nomination deadline, and the publication must have appeared in conference
proceedings or a scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the original
paper, or a paper closely related to the innovative contribution, must have
appeared in a SIROCCO proceedings.

A nomination letter should identify the paper(s) that make(s) the nominee
eligible according to conditions (1) and (2) above, as well as explain the
contribution, its originality, and its significance.

Past SIROCCO papers and authors can be found at indexing sites, e.g. Google
Scholar or DBLP

*Selection process*

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the
current Steering Committee (SC) Chair of the SIROCCO conference, the PC
chairs, including co-chairs, of the three SIROCCO conferences immediately
preceding the nominations deadline, plus one additional member of the
Advisory Board, or one past winner, selected by the Steering Committee for
the current year.

The Award Committee of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing
2024 consists of: Pierre Fraigniaud (University of Paris and CNRS), Magnus
M. Halldorsson - chair (Reykjavik University), Thomas Jurdzinski (Wroclaw
University), Merav Parter (Weizmann Institute), Andrea Richa (University of
Arizona), Christian Scheideler (Paderborn University), and Stefan Schmid
(University of Vienna).

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community.

*The deadline for nominations is September 30, 2023.*

Please send the nomination to the prize committee chair, Magnus M.
Halldorsson, by e-mail [log in to unmask] Please write “SIROCCO Prize Nomination” *in
the subject line*.

Please help in recognizing the contributions of members of our community.



[log in to unmask]

If you don't already have a password for the LISTSERV.ACM.ORG server, we recommend
that you create one now. A LISTSERV password is linked to your email
address and can be used to access the web interface and all the lists to
which you are subscribed on the LISTSERV.ACM.ORG server.

To create a password, visit:


Once you have created a password, you can log in and view or change your
subscription settings at: