PODC Archives

ACM PODC Participants List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
ACM PODC Participants List <[log in to unmask]>
Magnús Halldórsson <[log in to unmask]>
Mon, 20 Apr 2020 12:35:17 +0000
multipart/alternative; boundary="000000000000551fc405a3b82281"
Magnús Halldórsson <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (3538 bytes) , text/html (9 kB)
Awarded by the Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication
Complexity <http://sirocco.hiit.fi/> (SIROCCO).

Deadline for nominations: *April 30, 2020*.

Nominations are requested for the *Prize for Innovation In Distributed
Computing*. This prize was established to recognize individuals whose
research contributions expanded the collective investigative horizon in
SIROCCO <http://sirocco.hiit.fi/>’s area of interest. That is, they
formulated new problems, or identified new research areas, that were at the
time of their introduction, unorthodox and outside the mainstream, but
later attracted the interest of the SIROCCO community.

This community is interested in the relationships between information and
efficiency in decentralized computing. The prize recognizes originality,
innovation, and creativity – the qualities that reflect the spirit of the
SIROCCO conference.

The winner of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2021 is
expected to give an invited talk at SIROCCO 2021. The winner of the 2020
edition of the prize (Amos Korman) will give a talk at *SIROCCO *2020
<https://sirocco2020.cs.uni-paderborn.de/> which is going to be held in
June 29 – July 1 in Paderborn, Germany.

Past prize winners are Nicola Santoro, Jean-Claude Bermond, David Peleg,
Roger Wattenhofer, Andrzej Pelc, Pierre Fraigniaud, Michel Raynal, Masafumi
Yamashita, Shmuel Zaks, Zvi Lotker, Paola Flocchini, and Amos Korman.

The prize may not necessarily be awarded every year.


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible for the
prize. It is requested that a nomination letter explains and demonstrates
how the nominee matches these conditions.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the nominee(s)
for the first time in a publication at least five years before the
nomination deadline, and the publication must have appeared in a conference
proceedings or a scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the original
paper, or a paper closely related to the innovative contribution, must have
appeared in a SIROCCO proceedings.

A nomination letter should identify the paper(s) that make(s) the nominee
eligible according to conditions (1) and (2) above, as well as explain the
contribution, its originality, and its significance.

*Selection process*

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the
current Steering Committee (SC) Chair of the SIROCCO conference, the PC
chairs, including co-chairs, of the three SIROCCO conferences immediately
preceding the nominations deadline, plus one additional member of the
Advisory Board, or one past winner, selected by the Steering Committee for
the current year.

The Award Committee of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing
2021 consists of: Shantanu Das (Aix-Marseille Université), Keren
Censor-Hillel (Technion), Michele Flammini (University of L‘Aquila),  Pierre
Fraigniaud (CNRS), Magnús M. Halldórsson - chair (Reykjavik University),
Zvi Lotker (Ben Gurion University of the Negev), Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv
University),  and Sébastien Tixeuil (Sorbonne Université).

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community.

*The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2020.*

Please send the nomination to the prize committee chair, Magnus M.
Halldorsson, by e-mail [log in to unmask] Please write “SIROCCO Prize
Nomination” *in the subject line*.

Please help in recognizing the contributions of members of our community.