PODC Archives

ACM PODC Participants List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Christian Konrad <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Christian Konrad <[log in to unmask]>
Mon, 11 Mar 2019 13:59:13 +0000
text/plain (1 lines)




Nomination deadline: March 30, 2019

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for 

Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed 

computing. His foundational work on concurrency primitives (such as 

semaphores), concurrency problems (such as mutual exclusion and 

deadlock), finding shortest paths in graphs, fault-tolerance, and 

self-stabilization are important supports upon which the field of 

distributed computing is built. No other individual has had a larger 

influence on research in principles of distributed computing.

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of 

distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory 

and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least a 

decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.

The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of 

Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed 

Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the 

presentation taking place alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC. In 

2019, it will be presented at DISC 2019. The winners of the award will 

share the cash award, and each winning author will be presented with a 

plaque. An announcement of each year's prize recipient(s) will be 

included in the PODC and DISC proceedings of that year, describing the 

paper's lasting contributions.

Nominations and Eligibility:

Nominations may be made by any member of the scientific community. Each 

nomination must identify the paper being nominated and include a support 

letter justifying the nomination, as well as a one-paragraph summary. 

Papers appearing in any conference proceedings or journals are eligible, 

as long as they have had a significant impact on research areas of 

interest within the theory of distributed computing community, and as 

long as the year of the original publication is at least ten years prior 

to the year in which the award is given.

Papers authored or co-authored by members of the Award Committee will 

not be eligible for consideration. Members of the Award Committee can 

nominate papers. However, they must carefully consider nominations from 

within the community. Members of the Award Committee will be especially 

sensitive to conflict-of-interests issues if papers by former students 

or close colleagues are nominated. (Members of the Award Committee 

cannot nominate such papers themselves.)

Your nomination must be sent to the chair of the 2019 Award Committee, 

Faith Ellen ([log in to unmask]). The nomination deadline is March 30, 


Selection Process:

Although the Award Committee is encouraged to consult with the 

distributed computing community at large, the Award Committee is solely 

responsible for the selection of the winner of the award. The prize may 

be shared by more than one paper. All matters relating to the selection 

process that are not specified here are left to the discretion of the 

Award Committee.

The list of past winners can be found at:




Award Committee for 2019:

Lorenzo Alvisi, Cornell University

Shlomi Dolev, Ben Gurion University

Faith Ellen (chair),  University of Toronto

Idit Keidar, Technion

Fabian Kuhn, University of Freiburg

Jukka Suomela, Aalto University