PODC Archives

ACM PODC Participants List


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"William Moses, Jr." <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
William Moses, Jr.
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 23:49:14 -0600
text/plain (4 kB) , text/html (6 kB)

*The 2021 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed
Computing================================================= *


*Nomination deadline:* March 15, 2021

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for Edsger
Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed computing.
His seminal works on concurrency primitives (such as semaphores),
concurrency problems (such as mutual exclusion and deadlock), finding
shortest paths in graphs, fault-tolerance, and self-stabilization are
important foundations upon which the field of distributed computing is

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of distributed
computing, whose significance and impact on the theory and/or practice of
distributed computing has been evident for at least a decade. The Prize
includes an award of $2000.

The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of
Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed
Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the presentation
taking place alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC. In 2021, it will be
presented at PODC. The winners of the award will share the cash award, and
each winning author will be presented with a plaque. An announcement of
each year's prize recipient(s) will be included in the PODC and DISC
proceedings of that year, describing the paper's lasting contributions.

*=================================================  *

*Nominations and
Eligibility:=================================================  *
Nominations by any member of the scientific community are eligible, as long
as the nominated work has had a significant impact on research areas of
interest within the theory of distributed computing community, and as long
as the year of the original publication is at least ten years prior to the
year in which the award is given.

Papers authored or co-authored by members of the Award Committee will not
be eligible for consideration. Members of the Award Committee can nominate
papers. However, they must carefully consider nominations from within the
community. Members of the Award Committee will be especially sensitive to
conflict-of-interests issues if papers by former students or close
colleagues are nominated. (Members of the Award Committee cannot nominate
such papers themselves.) Self-nominations are not allowed.

The nomination must include a short paragraph (approximately 200 words)
summarizing the contribution of the nominated work. The nomination may
include additional material, for example, support letters, but its total
length should not exceed six pages.

Nominations must be sent to the chair of the 2021 Award Committee, Keren
Censor-Hillel ([log in to unmask]). The nomination deadline is March
15, 2021.

*=================================================  Selection
Process:=================================================  *
Although the Award Committee is encouraged to consult with the distributed
computing community at large, the Award Committee is solely responsible for
the selection of the winner of the award. The prize may be shared by more
than one paper. All matters relating to the selection process that are not
specified here are left to the discretion of the Award Committee.

The list of past winners can be found at http://www.podc.org/dijkstra/ and

*=================================================  Award Committee for
*=================================================  *
Keren Censor-Hillel, Technion (chair)
Pierre Fraigniaud, Université de Paris and CNRS
Cyril Gavoille, LaBRI -- Université de Bordeaux
Seth Gilbert, National University of Singapore
Andrzej Pelc, Université du Québec en Outaouais
David Peleg, Weizmann Institute of Science

William K. Moses Jr.
Publicity Chair, PODC 2021