Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
ACM SIGMETRICS-MEMBERS List <[log in to unmask]>
Carey Williamson <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 17 May 2011 22:14:27 -0600
TEXT/PLAIN; format=flowed; charset=US-ASCII
Carey Williamson <[log in to unmask]>
TEXT/PLAIN (50 lines)
On behalf of ACM SIGMETRICS, I am pleased to announce that Dr. Adam
Wierman is the winner of the 2011 Rising Star Researcher Award.
He will receive his award at the ACM SIGMETRICS 2011 conference.

Dr. Wierman is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Computing
and Mathematical Sciences at the California Institute of Technology,
where he is a member of the Rigorous Systems Research Group (RSRG). He
received his Ph.D., M.Sc. and B.Sc. in Computer Science from Carnegie
Mellon University in 2007, 2004, and 2001, respectively.  His research
interests center around resource allocation and scheduling decisions
in computer systems and services.  More specifically, his work focuses
both on developing analytic techniques in stochastic modeling,
queueing theory, scheduling theory, and game theory, and applying
these techniques to application domains such as energy-efficient
computing, networks, and the electricity grid.

Dr. Wierman has served on the program committees of ACM SIGMETRICS,
IFIP Performance, ACM GreenMetrics, ACM HotMetrics,  ICST ValueTools,
IEEE ITC, and IEEE MASCOTS.  He serves on the Editorial Board of
Performance Evaluation and has served as program co-chair for ACM
HotMetrics, the EURANDOM Young European Queueing Theorists Symposium,
the Southern California Network Economics and Game Theory workshop,
and the IEEE ICCCN Network Algorithms and Performance Evaluation
track.  He has also been involved with organizing conference sessions
at INFORMS (Applied Probability Cluster).

His work has received the 2003 ACM SIGMETRICS Best Student Paper
Award, the 2010 IFIP Performance Best Paper Award, and the 2011 IEEE
INFOCOM Best Paper Award.  He was named a Seibel Scholar in 2007,
received an Okawa Foundation grant in 2008, and received an NSF CAREER
grant in 2008. His dissertation received the CMU School of Computer
Science Distinguished Dissertation Award and was given an honorable
mention for the INFORMS Doctoral Dissertation Award for Operations
Research in Telecommunications.  He has also received multiple
teaching awards, including the Associated Students of the California
Institute of Technology (ASCIT) Teaching Award in 2010, the Alan J.
Perlis School of Computer Science teaching award in 2005, and the
Carnegie Mellon Graduate Student Teaching Award in 2006.

For more information about Dr. Wierman, please visit:

On behalf of the SIG, I would like to express my thanks to Peter Key
for chairing this year's selection committee, which also included
Jean Bolot, Devavrat Shah, Prashant Shenoy, Milan Vojnovic,
and Jean Walrand.

Carey Williamson