TEAM-ADA Archives

Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy


Options: Use Forum View

Use Proportional Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
multipart/alternative; boundary="_000_DM5PR0901MB229609D8379E07CDA0539E66C8010DM5PR0901MB2296_"
Thu, 6 Sep 2018 19:21:17 +0000
"Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy" <[log in to unmask]>
"Sward, Rick" <[log in to unmask]>
"Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy" <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (2859 bytes) , text/html (6 kB)
Just a friendly reminder to submit your nominations for the 2018 SIGAda Awards.

The deadline for award nominations is September 14th.


Rick Sward
Chair ACM SIGAda Awards Committee
ACM SIGAda Past Chair

From: Sward, Rick
Sent: Tuesday, August 14, 2018 10:13 AM
To: Sward, Rick <[log in to unmask]>
Subject: SIGAda 2018 Awards

Dear Members of the Ada Community:

We welcome your nominations for the 2018 Robert Dewar Award for Outstanding Ada Community Contributions and the 2018 ACM SIGAda Distinguished Service Award.

This year's award winners will be announced at SIGAda's High Integrity Language Technology (HILT) International Workshop being held Nov 5 - 6, 2018, at the Boston Park Plaza Hotel, Boston, MA, USA.

Award nominations are due on September 14th.

The ACM SIGAda Awards recognize individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the Ada community and to SIGAda.  The two categories of awards are:

(1) Robert Dewar Award for Outstanding Ada Community Contributions
     -- For broad, lasting contributions to Ada technology & usage.

(2) ACM SIGAda Distinguished Service Award
     -- For exceptional contributions to SIGAda activities & products.

If there are individuals who you feel have made contributions that satisfy these criteria, please consider nominating them.  You may nominate a person for either or both awards, and as many people as you think worthy.

Please visit the SIGAda Awards page and peruse the names of past winners.  This may help you think about the measure of accomplishment that is appropriate.  You may be aware of people who have made substantial contributions that have not yet been acknowledged. Nominate them. Consider what you believe to be the best developments in the Ada community or SIGAda in the last year; the last 5 years; since Ada's inception. Who was responsible?  Nominate them.

Please note that anyone who has received either of the two awards remains eligible for the other.  Perhaps there is an outstanding SIGAda volunteer who has won our Distinguished Service Award and who has also made important contributions to the advance of Ada technology, or vice versa.  Nominate him or her!

The nomination form is available on the SIGAda Awards page:

Submit your nomination as an e-mail or e-mail attachment to [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>    From your nominations, the recipients of the awards are determined by a poll of previous award winners.

Call our attention to the people who are most deserving, by nominating them.  And please nominate by September 14th!

Your participation in the nominations process will help maintain the prestige and honor of these awards.

Thank you,

Ricky E. "Ranger" Sward
Chair ACM SIGAda Awards Committee
ACM SIGAda Past Chair