TEAM-ADA Archives

Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy


Options: Use Classic View

Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="_000_DM8PR09MB70774375E79F1E045DC41BB0C83E0DM8PR09MB7077namp_"
Date: Thu, 17 Sep 2020 18:46:30 +0000
Reply-To: "Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy" <[log in to unmask]>
From: Ricky E Sward <[log in to unmask]>
X-cc: Clyde Roby <[log in to unmask]>
Message-ID: <[log in to unmask]>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Sender: "Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy" <[log in to unmask]>
Parts/Attachments: text/plain (2683 bytes) , text/html (5 kB)
Dear Members of the Ada Community:

We welcome your nominations for the 2020 Robert Dewar Award for Outstanding Ada Community Contributions and the 2020 ACM SIGAda Distinguished Service Award.

We hope this message finds you and your family safe and healthy. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the SIGAda meeting in 2020 will be held as a virtual Workshop on November 15-20, 2020, co-located with SPLASH 2020 in Chicago, Illinois, USA.

This year's award winners will be announced as part of the SIGAda Workshop.

Award nominations are due on October 9th.

The ACM SIGAda Awards recognize individuals, teams, and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the Ada community and to SIGAda.  The two categories of awards are:

(1) Robert Dewar Award for Outstanding Ada Community Contributions
     -- For broad, lasting contributions to Ada technology & usage.

(2) ACM SIGAda Distinguished Service Award
     -- For exceptional contributions to SIGAda activities & products.

If there are individuals or teams who you feel have made contributions that satisfy these criteria, please consider nominating them.  You may nominate a person or a team of people for either or both awards, and as many people as you think worthy.

Please visit the SIGAda Awards page and peruse the names of past winners.  This may help you think about the measure of accomplishment that is appropriate.  You may be aware of people who have made substantial contributions that have not yet been acknowledged. Nominate them. Consider what you believe to be the best developments in the Ada community or SIGAda in the last year; the last 5 years; since Ada's inception. Who was responsible?  Nominate them.

Please note that anyone who has received either of the two awards remains eligible for the other.  Perhaps there is an outstanding SIGAda volunteer who has won our Distinguished Service Award and who has also made important contributions to the advance of Ada technology, or vice versa.  Nominate him or her!

The nomination form is available on the SIGAda Awards page:

Submit your nomination as an e-mail or e-mail attachment to [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>    From your nominations, the recipients of the awards are determined by a poll of previous award winners.

Call our attention to the people who are most deserving, by nominating them.  And please nominate by October 9th!

Your participation in the nominations process will help maintain the prestige and honor of these awards.

Thank you,

Ricky E. "Ranger" Sward
Chair ACM SIGAda Awards Committee
ACM SIGAda Past Chair