TEAM-ADA Archives

Team Ada: Ada Programming Language Advocacy


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Currie Colket <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Fri, 14 May 1999 00:36:32 -0400
text/plain (113 lines)
Dear Team-Ada:

Wonderful News! The ASIS Standard has now been published by ISO and is
available. The name of the new standard is:

ISO/IEC 15291:1999,
Information technology - Programming languages - Ada Semantic Interface
Specification (ASIS)

The ASIS Standard is available via the ISO Catalog at; the ASIS specific reference is
located at

The Final Draft International Standard (FDIS) Ballot on ASIS was
approved on 8 December 1998. Twenty-three Nations voted to approve ASIS
as an International Standard (there were 0 nations voting for
disapproval and 7 nations abstained). The publication date of the ASIS
Standard is May 1999.

There are a number of talented people who have worked very hard to get
ASIS to where it is today. We are indebted to the ASIS Working Group
(ASISWG) and ASIS Rapporteur Group (ASISRG) members who spent many hours
evolving an ASIS for Ada 83 to an ASIS for Ada 95. We are indebted to
the work of the National reviewers who provided excellent comments,
which have resulted in a significantly improved ASIS specification for
the Ada community. We are indebted to the many who helped resolve these
issues. We are indebted to those in SC22 and ISO who worked close with
us for standardization. These creators, reviewers, resolvers and
facilitators included: Cheryl Barbasch, Gary Barnes, John Barnes, Bill
Beckwith, Roy Bell, Jim Bladen, Steve Blake, Alex Blakemore, Keith
Brannon, David Brookman, Ben Brosgol, Gary Bundy, Vincent Celier, Dave
Clark, Richard Conn, Dan Cooper, John Dawes, Robert Dewar, Bill Eastman,
Bob Ekman, Dan Ehrenfried, Dan Eilers, Magnus Ericson, Arthur Evans, Dan
Fisher, Herm Fischer, Vasiliy Fofanov, Mark Gerhardt, Wesley Hair, Hal
Hart, Peter Hermann, Chuck Hobin, Maretta Holden, Bob Hokanson, Rick
Hudson, Kiyoshi Ishihata, Jesper Joergensen, Bjorn Kallberg, Magnus
Kempe, Allan Kopp, Alexei Kuchumov, Alain Le Guennec, Janusz Laski,
Robert Leif, Pascal Leroy, Jim Longers, Ole Oest, Stefan Landherr, Bob
Mathis, Steve Michell, Jim Moore, Peter Obermayer, Bertrand Petitprez,
Michael Pickett, Erhard Ploedereder, Ron Price, Gil Prine, Bill
Pritchett, Bill Rinehuls, Dan Rittersdorf, Clyde Roby, Sergey Rybin, Tom
Shields, Steen Silberg, John Solomond, John Spangler, David Spenhoff,
Doug Smith, Tom Strelich, Alfred Strohmeier, Joyce Tokar, Bill Thomas,
Kevin Tucker, Luba Vladavsky, Mickey White, Brian Wichmann, John Wiley,
Steve Ziegler, Eugene Zueff, and many others.

A very, very special thanks to those who served in key positions in
making ASIS happen these folks are: Currie Colket (ASISWG Chair/ASISRG
Chair), Dr. Tom Shields (first ASISWG Chair), Steve Blake (ASISWG Vice
Chair; ASISRG Co-Editor), Clyde Roby (ASISWG Recorder; ASISRG
Co-Editor), Dan Cooper (ASISWG Vice-Recorder), Dr. Bill Thomas (ASISWG
Vice Chair for Publicity/Meetings), Gary Barnes (ASISWG Archivist),
Cheryl Barbasch (Active Member), Dr. Robert Dewar (Active member),
Jesper Joergensen (Active Member), Dan Rittersdorf (Active Lurker), Dr.
Sergey Rybin (Active Member), Steen Silberg (Active Member), Professor
Alfred Strohmeier (Active Member), and Dr. Joyce Tokar (Active Member).

Several monumental efforts should be recognized: Gary Barnes, Steve
Blake, Sergey Rybin and Joyce Tokar rapidly brought ASIS into the
Rational, AONIX, DDC-I, and ACT environments. The development of these
ASIS implementations by different vendors concurrent with the
development of the ASIS specification was vitally important to the
standardization of ASIS. The efforts of Dan Cooper, Dan Rittersdorf, and
Bill Thomas in addressing issues from the user perspective is
particularly noteworthy. Clyde Roby and Steve Blake did a fantastic job
as technical editors. A very special thanks goes to Clyde Roby who is
truly a wizard at generating a large technical document and making the
World Wide Web effective for the dissemination of ASIS information via
the ASIS Home Page. His work in providing ASIS and the Resolution of
Editorial and Technical Comments on the ASIS Home Page was vital to the
success of ASIS. I would like to thank Professor Richard Conn for
insuring the latest ASIS versions have been on the Public Ada Library
(PAL) CD-ROMs. And yes, a very special thanks goes to Dan Ehrenfried
whose idea for the LRM interfaces in the 1980s mushroomed into ASIS.

As the ASIS interface has been a totally volunteer effort since 1989,
ASIS happened because a number of key organizations recognized the value
of cooperation and committed their resources to benefit the entire Ada
community. These key organizations are: ACT, Ada_Med, Aonix, Boeing,
CACI, Celsius Tech Naval Systems, Concurrent Computer Corporation, DCS
Corporation, DDC-I, Defense Science and Technology Organization, EDS,
GRC, Hughes Aircraft, IDA, Intermetrics, Irvine Compiler Corporation,
Little Tree Consulting, Lockheed-Martin, Magnavox, Mark V Systems,
Maurya Software, Meiji University, MITRE, Moscow State University,
National Physical Laboratory, New York University, Oakland University,
Objective Interface Systems, Odyssey Research Associates, Peregrine
Systems, Praxis Critical Systems, Rationale, Swiss Federal Institute of
Technology, Texas Instruments, UNISYS, Universitaet Stuttgart, Uppsala
University, U.S. Air Force, and the U.S. Navy.

A special thanks goes the Ada Joint Program Office (specially Dr. John
Solomond and Dr. Charles Engle), the WG9 convenors (Mr. James Moore and
Dr. Robert Mathis), the ACM SIGAda chairs (specially Mr. Mark Gerhardt,
Mr. Hal Hart and Mr. Ben Brosgol), and the Space and Naval Warfare
Systems Command (SPAWAR) (specially Mr. Phillip Andrews and Mr. Carl
Andriani), who recognized the code analysis value of ASIS to assess the
quality of software for mission-critical and safety-critical
applications, and consequently encouraged my participation on this very
important interface.

It was a distinct pleasure of mine to work with a highly professional
and cooperative team dedicated to producing a powerful interface to the
Ada compilation environment. Thank you all for producing a product which
will benefit the entire Ada community.


Currie Colket
[log in to unmask]
+1 (703) 883-7381