[please accept our apologies if you receive multiple copies of this email]

Call For Papers:

        W-PIN+NetEcon 2013: The Joint Workshop on Pricing and Incentive in Networks and Systems
        In conjunction with ACM SIGMETRICS 2013
        Friday, June 21, 2013 (Pittsburgh, USA)



    * Paul Milgrom, Stanford University


    * Mung Chiang, Princeton University
    * Adrian Vetta, McGill University
    * Adam Wierman, Caltech


 Today's communication networks and networked systems are highly complex and heterogeneous, and are often owned by multiple profit-making entities. For new technologies or infrastructure designs to be adopted, they must not be only based on sound engineering performance considerations but also present the right economic incentives. Recent changes in regulations of the telecommunication industry make such economic considerations even more urgent. For instance, new concerns such as network neutrality have a significant impact on the evolution of communication networks.

At the same time, communication networks and networked systems support increasing economic activity based on applications and services such as cloud computing, social networks, and peer-to-peer networks. These applications pose new challenges such as the development of good pricing and incentive mechanisms to promote effective system-wide behavior. In relation to these applications, security and privacy also require consideration of economic aspects to be fully understood.

The aim of W-PIN+NetEcon is to foster discussions on the application of economic and game-theoretic models and principles to address challenges in the development of networks and network-based applications and services. W-PIN+NetEcon was formed as a merger of the successful NetEcon (earlier P2PECON, IBC and PINS workshops) and W-PIN workshops. We invite submission of extended abstracts describing original research on theoretical/methodological contributions or on applications to cases of interest. It is our hope that W-PIN+NetEcon will serve as a feeder workshop, i.e., that expanded, polished versions of extended abstracts will appear later in major conference proceedings and refereed journals of relevant research communities.

Topics of interest include (but are not limited to):

    * Pricing of resources in communication networks, grids, and cloud computing
    * Pricing of online goods, copyright issues, effect of network structure (e.g., social network)
    * Economic issues in universal broadband access and economics of peering
    * Effect of market structure and regulations (e.g., network neutrality)
    * Economics of networks security and privacy
    * Auctions and applications to networks: spectrum auctions, auction-based marketplaces for network and cloud resources
    * Incentive mechanisms for networks: peer-to-peer systems, clouds, wireless networks, spam prevention, security
    * Methods for engineering incentives and disincentives (e.g., reputation, trust, control, accountability, anonymity)
    * Empirical studies of strategic behavior (or the lack thereof) in existing, deployed systems
    * Design of incentive-aware network architecture and protocols
    * Game-theoretic models and techniques for network economics: large games, learning, mechanism design, interaction of game theory and information theory or queuing theory, information exchange, diffusion, dynamics of cooperation and network formation, trades in social and economic networks
    * Algorithmic mechanism design
    * Critiques of existing models and solution concepts, as well as proposals of better models and solution concepts
    * Studies of polarization, online collaboration, crowdsourcing, and human computation

Submissions must be in the form of extended abstracts of 3-4 pages, including all figures, tables, references, appendices, etc. They must be formatted according to the standard alternate ACM PER double column format using letter paper. You are encouraged to use the ACM sig-alternate-per latex template (http://www.sigmetrics.org/sig-alternate-per.cls).

Accepted extended abstracts will be published in a special issue of ACM Performance Evaluation Review (PER) and will be available online through ACM portal digital library. Authors of accepted abstracts grant ACM permission to publish them in print and digital formats.

Note that authors retain the copyright of their work published in ACM PER, with freedom to submit it elsewhere. Yet, authors for whom publication of a 3-4 pages extended abstract in the W-PIN+NetEcon 2013 proceedings would preclude later publication of an expanded version in the relevant venue may elect to contribute only a one-page abstract of their submitted extended abstract to the W-PIN+NetEcon 2013 proceedings. Such an abstract should include the URL of a working paper or preprint that contains the main results presented at the NetEcon workshop. Authors will make this decision after receiving a notice of acceptance.


    Patrick Loiseau (EURECOM, France)
    David Parkes (Harvard University, USA)
    Jean Walrand (UC Berkeley, USA)

    Eitan Altman (INRIA, France)
    Tamer Basar (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA)
    Bobby Bhattarcharjee (University of Maryland, USA)
    Gergely Biczok (NTNU, Norway)
    Kostas Bimpikis (Stanford University, USA)
    Rainer Bohme (WWU Münster, Germany)
    Costas Courcoubetis (Athens Univ. Economics and Business, Greece)
    Constantine Dovrolis (GeorgiaTech, USA)
    Roch Guerin (UPenn, USA)
    Ekram Hossain (University of Manitoba, Canada)
    Jianwei Huang (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
    Ramesh Johari (Stanford University, USA)
    Scott Jordan (UC Irvine, USA)
    Ian Kash (Microsoft Research, UK)
    Peter Key (Microsoft Research, UK)
    Robert D. Kleinberg (Cornell University, USA)
    Sebastien Lahaie (Microsoft Research, USA)
    Nikolaos Laoutaris (Telefonica, Spain)
    Dave Levin (University of Maryland, USA)
    Patrick Loiseau (EURECOM, France) -- co-chair
    John C. S. Lui (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
    Richard T.B. Ma (NUS, Singapore)
    Patrick Maille (Telecom Bretagne, France)
    Vishal Misra (Columbia University, USA)
    Jeonghoon Mo (Yonsei University, South Korea)
    John Musacchio (UC Santa Cruz, USA)
    Andrew Odlyzko (University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA)
    Ariel Orda (Technion, Israel)
    David Parkes (Harvard University, USA) -- co-chair
    Galina Schwartz (UC Berkeley, USA)
    R. Srikant (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA)
    Nicolas Stier Moses (Columbia, USA)
    Bruno Tuffin (INRIA, France)
    Milan Vojnovic (Microsoft Research, UK)
    Jean Walrand (UC Berkeley, USA) -- co-chair
    Adam Wierman (Caltech, USA)


    * Monday April 15, 2013: Submission deadline
    * Monday May 6, 2013: Notification to authors
    * Monday June 10, 2013: Final version due
    * Friday June 21, 2013: Workshop in Pittsburgh


For more information, please contact the organizers or visit the workshop website: http://www.eurecom.fr/~loiseau/W-PIN+NetEcon2013/.

Patrick Loiseau
Assistant Professor, Networking and Security
EURECOM, Sophia-Antipolis, France

Web: http://www.eurecom.fr/~loiseau/

To unsubscribe from the SPAA list, click the following link: