The 2016 ACM SIGMETRICS Rising Star Research Award will be presented at the ACM SIGMETRICS 2016 conference http://www.sigmetrics.org/sigmetrics2016/, June 14-18, 2016, in Antibes Juan-les-Pins.  The award is given annually to recognize a rising star in our community who demonstrates outstanding potential for research in the field of computer and communication performance. The selection will be based on the impact of the candidate's work in the field in creating promising new ideas, paradigms and tools related to the performance analysis of computer and communication systems, which may be analytical or empirical in nature.  Depth and impact will be valued over breadth of contribution for this award.


The award includes a plaque and a $1,000 honorarium or expenses for travel to the conference where the award is presented. 

The past winners of this award are: Prof. Jinwoo Shin (2015), Dr. Florian Simatos (2014), Dr. Augustin Chaintreau (2013), Dr. Marc Lelarge (2012), Prof. Adam Wierman (2011), Dr. Milan Vojnovic (2010), Prof. Alexandre Proutiere (2009), Prof. Devavrat Shah (2008).


The recipient of the SIGMETRICS Rising Star award will be determined by a committee consisting of five members appointed by the SIGMETRICS Executive committee.

Please submit all nominations via email by Friday April 8, 2016 to the committee chair, Don Towsley, at [log in to unmask]. Please use “SIGMETRICS Rising Star nomination” as the subject header. The nominator must collect all materials and send them in a single e-mail.

Nominations for the award must include:


Rules for Nomination:

Questions should be sent to the committee chair.  An online version of this announcement is available at http://www.sigmetrics.org/awards.shtml#risingstar. Good luck!



To unsubscribe from the SIGMETRICS-MEMBERS list, click the following link: