Call for Nominations

for the

SIGMM Technical Achievement Award

for Outstanding Technical Contributions to Multimedia Computing, Communications and Applications


This award is presented every year to a researcher who has made significant and lasting contributions to multimedia computing, communication and applications. Outstanding technical contributions through research and practice are recognized. Towards this goal, contributions are considered from academia and industry that focus on major advances in multimedia including multimedia processing, multimedia content analysis, multimedia systems, multimedia network protocols and services, and multimedia applications and interfaces. The award recognizes members of the community for long-term technical accomplishments or those who have made a notable impact through a significant technical innovation. The selection committee focuses on candidates' contributions as judged by innovative ideas, influence in the community, and/or the technical/social impact resulting from their work. The award includes a $2000 honorarium , an award certificate of recognition, and an invitation for the recipient to present a keynote talk at a current year's SIGMM-sponsored conference, the ACM International Conference on Multimedia (ACM Multimedia). Travel expenses to the conference will be covered by SIGMM, and a public citation for the award will be placed on the SIGMM website.


The award honorarium, the award certificate of recognition and travel expenses to the ACM International Conference on Multimedia is fully sponsored by the SIGMM budget.


Nominations are solicited by May 31, 2017 with a decision made by June 30 2017, in time to allow the above recognition and award presentation at ACM Multimedia 2017.
Nominations for the award must include:

The nomination rules are: The nominee can be any member of the scientific community.

Please submit your nomination to the award committee by email.


Alberto del Bimbo ([log in to unmask])

Klara Nahrstedt ([log in to unmask])

Tat-Seng Chua ([log in to unmask])

·       Nicu Sebe ( [log in to unmask] )

·       Rainer Lienhart ( [log in to unmask])

·       Shih-Fu Chang ( [log in to unmask] )


2016: Alberto del Bimbo (for outstanding, pioneering and continued research contributions in the areas of multimedia processing, multimedia content analysis, and multimedia applications, his leadership in multimedia education, and his outstanding and continued service to the community)

2015: Tat-Seng Chua (for pioneering contributions to multimedia, text and social media processing)

2014: Klara Nahrstedt (for pioneering contributions in Quality of Service for MM systems and networking and for visionary leadership of the MM community).

·       2013: Dick Bulterman (for outstanding technical contributions in multimedia authoring through research, standardization, and entrepreneurship).

·       2012: Hong-Jiang Zhang (for pioneering contributions to and leadership in media computing including content-based media analysis and retrieval, and their applications).

·       2011: Shi-Fu Chang (for pioneering research and inspiring contributions in multimedia analysis and retrieval).

·       2010: Ramesh Jain (for pioneering research and inspiring leadership that transformed multimedia information processing to enhance the quality of life and visionary leadership of the multimedia community).

·       2009: Lawrence A. Rowe (for pioneering research in continuous media software systems and visionary leadership of the multimedia research community).

·       2008: Ralf Steinmetz (for pioneering work in multimedia communications and the fundamentals of multimedia synchronization).