Awarded by the Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication Complexity (SIROCCO).

Deadline for nominations: April 30, 2020.

Nominations are requested for the Prize for Innovation In Distributed Computing. This prize was established to recognize individuals whose research contributions expanded the collective investigative horizon in SIROCCO’s area of interest. That is, they formulated new problems, or identified new research areas, that were at the time of their introduction, unorthodox and outside the mainstream, but later attracted the interest of the SIROCCO community.

This community is interested in the relationships between information and efficiency in decentralized computing. The prize recognizes originality, innovation, and creativity – the qualities that reflect the spirit of the SIROCCO conference.

The winner of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2021 is expected to give an invited talk at SIROCCO 2021. The winner of the 2020 edition of the prize (Amos Korman) will give a talk at SIROCCO 2020 which is going to be held in June 29 – July 1 in Paderborn, Germany.

Past prize winners are Nicola Santoro, Jean-Claude Bermond, David Peleg, Roger Wattenhofer, Andrzej Pelc, Pierre Fraigniaud, Michel Raynal, Masafumi Yamashita, Shmuel Zaks, Zvi Lotker, Paola Flocchini, and Amos Korman.

The prize may not necessarily be awarded every year.


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible for the prize. It is requested that a nomination letter explains and demonstrates how the nominee matches these conditions.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the nominee(s) for the first time in a publication at least five years before the nomination deadline, and the publication must have appeared in a conference proceedings or a scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the original paper, or a paper closely related to the innovative contribution, must have appeared in a SIROCCO proceedings.

A nomination letter should identify the paper(s) that make(s) the nominee eligible according to conditions (1) and (2) above, as well as explain the contribution, its originality, and its significance.

Selection process

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the current Steering Committee (SC) Chair of the SIROCCO conference, the PC chairs, including co-chairs, of the three SIROCCO conferences immediately preceding the nominations deadline, plus one additional member of the Advisory Board, or one past winner, selected by the Steering Committee for the current year.

The Award Committee of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2021 consists of: Shantanu Das (Aix-Marseille Université), Keren Censor-Hillel (Technion), Michele Flammini (University of L‘Aquila),  Pierre Fraigniaud (CNRS), Magnús M. Halldórsson - chair (Reykjavik University), Zvi Lotker (Ben Gurion University of the Negev), Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv University),  and Sébastien Tixeuil (Sorbonne Université).

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community.

The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2020.

Please send the nomination to the prize committee chair, Magnus M. Halldorsson, by e-mail [log in to unmask]. Please write “SIROCCO Prize Nomination” in the subject line.

Please help in recognizing the contributions of members of our community.