Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2022

Awarded by the Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication
Complexity <> (SIROCCO).
Call for Prize Nominations

Deadline for nominations: *May 25, 2021*.

Nominations are requested for the *Prize for Innovation In Distributed
Computing*. This prize was established to recognize individuals whose
research contributions expanded the collective investigative horizon in
SIROCCO <>’s area of interest. That is, they
formulated new problems, or identified new research areas, that were at the
time of their introduction, unorthodox and outside the mainstream, but
later attracted the interest of the SIROCCO community.

This community is interested in the relationships between information and
efficiency in decentralized computing. The prize recognizes originality,
innovation, and creativity – the qualities that reflect the spirit of the
SIROCCO conference.

The winner of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2022 is
expected to give an invited talk at SIROCCO 2022. The winner of the 2021
edition of the prize (Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide) will give a talk
*2021 which will be held virtually during June 28 – July 1.

Past prize winners are Nicola Santoro, Jean-Claude Bermond, David Peleg,
Roger Wattenhofer, Andrzej Pelc, Pierre Fraigniaud, Michel Raynal, Masafumi
Yamashita, Shmuel Zaks, Zvi Lotker, Paola Flocchini, Amos Korman, and
Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide.

The prize may not necessarily be awarded every year.


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible for the
prize. It is requested that a nomination letter explains and demonstrates
how the nominee matches these conditions.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the nominee(s)
for the first time in a publication at least five years before the
nomination deadline, and the publication must have appeared in a conference
proceedings or a scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the original
paper, or a paper closely related to the innovative contribution, must have
appeared in a SIROCCO proceedings.

A nomination letter should identify the paper(s) that make(s) the nominee
eligible according to conditions (1) and (2) above, as well as explain the
contribution, its originality, and its significance.

Past SIROCCO papers and authors can be found at indexing sites, e.g. Google
Scholar or DBLP

*Selection process*

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the
current Steering Committee (SC) Chair of the SIROCCO conference, the PC
chairs, including co-chairs, of the three SIROCCO conferences immediately
preceding the nominations deadline, plus one additional member of the
Advisory Board, or one past winner, selected by the Steering Committee for
the current year.

The Award Committee of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing
2021 consists of: Keren Censor-Hillel (Technion), Michele Flammini
(University of L‘Aquila),  Magnus M. Halldorsson - chair (Reykjavik
University), Thomas Jurdzinski (Wroclaw University), Zvi Lotker (Ben Gurion
University of the Negev), Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv University), Andrea
Richa (University of Arizona), Christian Scheideler (Paderborn University),
and Stefan Schmid (University of Vienna).

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community.

*The deadline for nominations is May 25, 2021.*

Please send the nomination to the prize committee chair, Magnus M.
Halldorsson, by e-mail to [log in to unmask] Please write “SIROCCO Prize
Nomination” *in the subject line*.

Please help in recognizing the contributions of members of our community.