Dear all, 
please find below the final call for contributions for MHV'22 (deadline extended to Friday). The venue is most appropriate for video related topics that can benefit from an industry-academia collaboration. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the TPC co-chair Christian Timmerer ([log in to unmask]). 


ACM Mile High Video (MHV) 2022
March 1-3, 2022, Denver, CO

Abstract submission deadline: Oct. 22, 2021
Prospective speakers are invited to submit an abstract (i.e., approx. 400 words or up to one page using the ACM template) that will be peer-reviewed by the ACM MHV technical program committee (TPC) for relevance, timeliness and technical correctness.

After running as an independent event for several years, starting with 2022, Mile High Video (MHV) will be organized by the ACM Special Interest Group on Multimedia (SIGMM) to grow further. ACM MHV’22 will establish a unique forum for participants from both industry and academia to present, share and discuss innovations from content production to consumption.

ACM MHV’22 welcomes contributions from industry to share real-world problems and solutions as well as novel approaches and results from basic research typically conducted within an academic environment. ACM MHV’22 will provide a unique opportunity to view the interplay of the industry and academia in the area of video technologies.

ACM MHV contributions are solicited in, but not limited to the following areas:
• Content production, encoding and packaging
• Encoding for broadcast, mobile and OTT, and using AI/ML in encoding
• New and developing audio and video codecs
• HDR, accessibility
• Quality assessment models and tools, and user experience studies
• Workflows
• Virtualized headends, cloud-based workflows for production and distribution
• Redundancy and resilience in content origination
• Ingest protocols
• Ad insertion
• Content delivery and security
• Developments in transport protocols and new delivery paradigms
• Protection for OTT distribution and tools against piracy
• Analytics
• Streaming technologies
• Adaptive streaming and transcoding
• Low latency
• Player, playback and UX developments
• Content discovery, promotion and recommendation systems
• Protocol and Web API improvements and innovations for streaming video
• Industry trends
• Advances in interactive and immersive (xR) video
• Video coding for machines
• Cloud gaming and gaming streaming
• Provenance, content authentication and deepfakes
• Standards and interoperability
• New and developing standards in the media and delivery space
• Interoperability guidelines

Prospective speakers are invited to submit an abstract (i.e., approx. 400 words or up to one page using the ACM template) that will be peer-reviewed by the ACM MHV technical program committee (TPC) for relevance, timeliness and technical correctness.

The authors of the accepted abstracts will be invited to optionally submit a full-length paper (up to six pages + references) for possible inclusion into the conference proceedings. These papers must be original work (i.e., not published previously in a journal or conference) and will also be peer-reviewed by the ACM MHV TPC.

Accepted abstracts and full-length papers will be presented at the ACM MHV conference and will be published in the conference proceedings in the ACM Digital Library.

All prospective ACM authors are subject to all ACM Publications Policies, including ACM's new Publications Policy on Research Involving Human Participants and Subjects.

How to Submit an Abstract

Prospective authors are invited to submit an abstract here:

Important Dates
• Abstract submission deadline: Oct. 22, 2021
• Notification of abstract acceptance: Nov. 15, 2021
• (Optional) Full-length paper submission deadline: Nov. 30, 2021
• Notification of full-length paper acceptance: Dec. 31, 2021
• Camera-ready submission (abstracts/full-length papers) deadline: Jan. 31, 2022

ACM MHV’22 Program Chairs
• Christian Timmerer (AAU; christian.timmerer AT
• Dan Grois (Comcast; dgrois AT

ACM MHV'22 Program Committee Members
• Florence Agboma (Sky, UK)
• Saba Ahsan (Nokia, Finland)
• Ali C. Begen (Ozyegin University, Turkey)
• Imed Bouazizi (Qualcomm, USA)
• Alan Bovik (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
• Pablo Cesar (CWI, The Netherlands)
• Pankaj Chaudhari (Hulu, USA)
• Luca De Cicco (Politecnico di Bari, Italy)
• Jan De Cock (Synamedia, Belgium)
• Thomas Edwards (Amazon Web Services, USA)
• Christian Feldmann (Bitmovin, Germany)
• Simone Ferlin-Reiter (Ericsson, Sweden)
• Carsten Griwodz (University of Oslo, Norway)
• Sally Hattori (Disney, USA)
• Carys Hughes (Sky, UK)
• Mourad Kioumgi (Sky, Germany)
• Will Law (Akamai, USA)
• Zhu Li (University of Missouri, Kansas City, USA)
• Zhi Li (Netflix, USA)
• John Luther (JW Player, USA)
• Maria Martini (Kingston University, UK)
• Rufael Mekuria (Unified Streaming, The Netherlands)
• Marta Mrak (BBC, UK)
• Matteo Naccari (Audinate, UK)
• Mark Nakano (WarnerMedia, USA)
• Sejin Oh (Dolby, USA)
• Mickael Raulet (ATEME, France)
• Christian Rothenberg (University of Campinas , Brazil)
• Lucile Sassatelli (Universite Cote d'Azur, France)
• Tamar Shoham (Beamr, Israel)
• Gwendal Simon (Synamedia, France)
• Lea Skorin-Kapov (University of Zagreb, Croatia)
• Michael Stattmann (castLabs, Germany)
• Nicolas Weil (Amazon Web Services, USA)
• Roger Zimmermann (NUS, Singapore)

ACM MHV Steering Committee Members
• Balu Adsumilli (YouTube, USA)
• Ali C. Begen (Ozyegin University, Turkey), Co-chair
• Alex Giladi (Comcast, USA), Co-chair
• Sally Hattori (Walt Disney Studios, USA)
• Jean-Baptiste Kempf (VideoLAN, France)
• Thomas Kernen (NVIDIA, Switzerland)
• Scott Labrozzi (Disney Streaming Services, USA)
• Maria Martini (Kingston University, UK)
• Hatice Memiguven (beIN Media, Turkey)
• Ben Mesander (Wowza Media Systems, USA)
• Mark Nakano (WarnerMedia, USA)
• Madeleine Noland (ATSC, USA)
• Yuriy Reznik (Brightcove, USA)
• Tamar Shoham (Beamr, Israel)

Cise Midoglu
Simula Research Laboratory


[log in to unmask]

If you don't already have a password for the LISTSERV.ACM.ORG server, we recommend that you create one now. A LISTSERV password is linked to your email address and can be used to access the web interface and all the lists to which you are subscribed on the LISTSERV.ACM.ORG server.

To create a password, visit:


Once you have created a password, you can log in and view or change your subscription settings at: