The 2022 Dijkstra Prize Award Committee concluded its deliberations and we are happy to announce that the papers
“Safe Memory Reclamation for Dynamic Lock-Free Objects Using Atomic Reads and Writes,”
by Maged M. Michael. Proceedings of the 22nd ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed
Computing (PODC), Monterey, CA, USA, July 2002, pages 21–30.
“The Repeat Offender Problem: A Mechanism for Supporting Dynamic-Sized, Lock-Free
Data Structures,” by Maurice Herlihy, Victor Luchangco, and Mark Moir. Proceedings of the
16th International Symposium on Distributed Computing (DISC), Toulouse, France, October
2002, pages 339–353.
have been selected by the committee to receive the Dijkstra Prize this year for providing the first general approach to memory reclamation in nonblocking data structures, with significant impact both in research and practice.
The Award Committee 2022:
Christian Scheideler, Paderborn University (chair)
Marcos Aguilera, VMware Research
Alessandro Panconesi, Università La Sapienza, Rome
Andrea Richa, Arizona State University
Alexander Schwarzmann, Augusta University
Philipp Woelfel, University of Calgary

Arnaud Labourel
Co-publicity Chair, PODC 202


[log in to unmask]

If you don't already have a password for the LISTSERV.ACM.ORG server, we recommend that you create one now. A LISTSERV password is linked to your email address and can be used to access the web interface and all the lists to which you are subscribed on the LISTSERV.ACM.ORG server.

To create a password, visit:


Once you have created a password, you can log in and view or change your subscription settings at: