Call for Nominations 


Important Dates:


Submission of Nominations: July. 15th, 2012

Notification of Selection: Aug. 6th, 2012


please send to atsign tu-dresden dot de



Award Description:


The SIGACCESS Award for Outstanding Contributions to Computing and
Accessibility recognises individuals who have made significant and lasting
contributions to the development of computing technologies which improve the
accessibility of media and services to people with disabilities. Outstanding
contributions through research, practice, or advocacy are recognised.
Towards this goal, contributions are considered from academia, industry, as
well as other professions that focus on computer users with disabilities and
the application of computing technology to improve access. The award
recognises members of the community for long-term accomplishments or those
who have made a notable impact through a significant innovation.

Candidates' contributions can include innovative ideas, influence in the
community, and/or the social impact of their work.

The award includes a $1000 honorarium, an award certificate of recognition,
and an invitation for the recipient to present a keynote talk at the ASSETS
Conference. A public citation for the award will be placed on the SIGACCESS



Nomination Procedure:


Nominations for the award must include:


- A statement summarizing the candidate's accomplishments, description of
the significance of the work, and justification of the nomination (two pages

- Curriculum vitae of the nominee;

- Three endorsement letters supporting the nomination including the
significant contributions of the candidate. Each endorsement should be no
more than 300 words

- A concise statement (one sentence) of the achievement(s) for which the
award is being given. This statement will appear on the award certificate
and on the website.


The nomination rules are:


- The nominee can be any member of the scientific community.

- The nominator must be a SIGACCESS member.

- Self-nomination is not allowed.

- Nominations that do not result in an award can be resubmitted.

- Current members of the SIGACCESS Executive Committee as well as members of
the Awards Committee are not eligible.



Selection Committee:


Julio Abascal, University of the Basque Country, Spain

Bruce Walker, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Gerhard Weber (Chair), TU Dresden, Germany


                To unsubscribe, send an empty email to
     mailto:[log in to unmask]
    For further details of CHI lists see